‘Dawn of the Planet of the Apes’ Debuts: 8 Even Longer Film Franchises (Photos)

  • Toho, Warner Bros.
  • United Artists, MGM/Columbia Pictures
  • Paramount Pictures, Warner Bros. (New Line Cinema)
  • Paramount Pictures
  • Associated Film Distribution, Buena Vista
  • United Artists, Sony
  • Compass, Weinstein/Dimension
  • New Line, Warner Bros. (New Line)

When “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes” releases July 11, it will become the 8th film in the “Planet of the Apes” series. Here are eight other movie franchises that have lasted even longer

2 of 9
"James Bond"
007 became one of the most famous spy agents in the world thanks to the success of the James Bond franchise. The first movie, Dr. No, was released in 1962, and the series -- with a total of 23 films -- has continued its reign as one of the most popular franchises of all times through to the most recent installment, 2012's "Skyfall."