Dr. God’s ‘MOCKPocalypse’ Returning for Second Season on AXS TV (Exclusive)

Veteran stand-up Sinbad will perform on the fourth season of the network’s “Gotham Comedy Live”

AXS TV’s “Seriously. Funny. Thursdays” returns Jan. 15 with new episodes of the stand-up comedy series “Gotham Comedy Live” and a second season of the original talking-head comedy series “MOCKpocalypse,” TheWrap has learned.

“Gotham Comedy Live” is an hour-long live comedy series filmed at the famed Gotham Comedy Club in New York. Veteran comedian Sinbad will perform alongside emerging comics on “Gotham Comedy Live,” which is now in its fourth season.

ax

Hailing from Los Angeles-based comedy troupe Dr. God, this season of “MOCKpocalypse” finds comedians taking shots at 13 new topics related to the world of music, from offbeat trends like EDM and yacht rock to time-tested staples like country, disco and more.

The second season of “MOCKpocalypse” features a number of new and familiar faces including Broken Lizard members Kevin Heffernan and Steve Lemme, Jamie Kaler (“My Boys”), Ryan Stout (“Chelsea Lately”), Jimmy Pardo (“Never Not Funny”), Mary Birdsong (“Reno 911!”), Steve Agee (“The Sarah Silverman Program”) comedy duo Frangela and improv/sketch writer and performer Heather Campbell (“Whose Line Is It Anyway?”), among others.

“MOCKpocalypse” is run by executive producers Neil Garguilo and David Park who developed the project and also appear in the series with their fellow Dr. God members Sean Cowhig, Brian James O’Connell and Justin Ware. TV personality and writer Dave Holmes, who also appears in the series, has joined the show as a consulting producer for this season.

In addition to “MOCKpocalypse” and their popular comedy shows, Dr. God recently finished their first feature film “Bloodsucking Bastards,” a horror-comedy that will debut at the Slamdance Film Festival.

“Gotham Comedy Live” airs at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT while “MOCKpocalypse” airs at 11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT.