Tony Scott Death: Hollywood Reacts

Samuel L. Jackson, Ron Howard and Justin Timberlake express their grief after Tony Scott's apparent suicide

Tony Scott's shocking apparent suicide Sunday prompted an outpouring of grief for the director who guided some of the biggest releases of the last three decades.

Getty ImagesFilmmakers like Ron Howard and Edgar Wright offered Twitter tributes to the "Top Gun" director, alongside actors Samuel L. Jackson and Justin Timberlake.

"The A-Team" director Joe Carnahan hailed him as a mentor and replaced his profile photo with a picture of Scott. Zachary Quinto saluted his artistry. Howard called it simply a "tragic day."

Also read: Tony Scott, Director of 'Top Gun,' Dies in Apparent Suicide

Scott died Sunday after jumping from the Vincent Thomas Bridge into Los Angeles Harbor. He was 68. Authorities are investigating the death as a suicide.

In addition to "Top Gun," his hits included "Crimson Tide," "Unstoppable," and "Beverly Hills Cop II."

Also read: Tony Scott Had Inoperable Brain Cancer (Report)

Here are some of the tributes from his friends and colleagues.

Samuel L. Jackson (@SamuelLJackson)
Taking a moment to reflect on Tony Scott's life & work! My sympathies to his family. Feeling the loss!

Ron Howard (@RealRonHoward)
No more Tony Scott movies. Tragic day

Chris Rock ‏(@chrisrock)
Tony Scott director of my favorite movie man on fire. " I wish you had more time "

Simon Pegg (@simonpegg)
So sad to hear about Tony Scott. A master of grand action, nail biting pace and atmosphere. A real loss to film making.

Eli Roth (@eliroth)
RIP Tony Scott. Never knew him but always heard nothing but great things about him and I loved his films. Terrible loss for cinema.

Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake)
So sad to hear the news about Tony Scott. His movies made growing up more fun for me. My prayers and condolences to the Scott family.

Zachary Quinto (@ZacharyQuinto)
Met Tony Scott once. Thought we would meet again. Saddened by news of his passing. Grateful for the work he leaves behind. Peace to you sir.

Edgar Wright (@edgarwright)
I just woke up to hear about Tony Scott. Can't believe it. As I hope was evident in my work, I was big fan of his. Rest In Peace, sir.

Robert Rodriguez (@Rodriguez)
Tony Scott. Damn. Great knowing you, buddy. Thanks for the inspiration, advice, encouragement, and the decades of great entertainment.

Joe Carnahan (@carnojoe)
Tony always sent personal, handwritten notes & always drew a cartoon caricature of himself, smoking a cigar, with his hat colored in red.

Rosario Dawson (@rosariodawson)
Tony Scott…. You left us too soon. How terribly sad. What a lovely, kind human being you were. I will love and miss you much. Blessings to your family. Rest In Peace.

Elijah Wood (@woodelijah)
awful news about Tony Scott. rest in peace.

Mark Romanek (@markromanek)
Tony Scott was incredibly encouraging to me at an early stage of my career. He was generous, gregarious & immensely talented. Sadness.

Martha Plimpton (@MarthaPlimpton)
So very, very sorry to hear of the death of Tony Scott. A terrible, terrible loss of a truly talented, brilliant man.

David Dayen (@ddayen)
One of my first jobs in LA was transcribing story conferences between screenwriters and Tony Scott. RIP.

Harry Knowles (@headgeek666)
I've always felt that Tony Scott really clearly defined the look of the modern blockbuster film. His work was pure great looking filmmaking.

Stephen Fry (@stephenfry)
Deeply saddened to hear the news about Tony Scott. A fine film-maker and the most charming, modest man.

Ellen DeGeneres ‏@TheEllenShow
I'm sad to hear the news about Tony Scott. Sending love to his family & hoping anyone feeling hopeless or alone will reach out for help.

Patricia Arquette ‏@PattyArquette
Tony Scott-The sweetest man I have ever worked with…so sad to see you go.

Roger Ebert ‏@ebertchicago
Tony Scott: The death of a Master. My article just posted.http://bit.ly/NBiIeb 

Val Kilmer ‏@ValEKilmer
RIP Tony. You were the kindest film director I ever worked for. You will be missed

Dwayne Johnson ‏@TheRock
"I make a movie because it's something that inspires me" ~ TonyScott 6/21/44 – 8/19/12 Your movies inspired me..

Michael Moore ‏@MMFlint
True Romance. The scene with Christopher Walken and Dennis Hopper in a Detroit railyard is a classic. RIP Tony Scott.