Jeffrey Katzenberg to Receive CinemaCon's ‘Pioneer of the Year’ Award

Will recognize the DreamWorks Animation CEO's charitable work

Jeffrey Katzenberg will receive CinemaCon's "Pioneer of the Year" award at next year's trade show.

The Will Rogers Motion Picture Pioneers Foundation will present the bauble to the DreamWorks Animation SKG chief in recognition of his charitable efforts.

Katzenberg will be honored on April 25, 2012 at the annual gathering of cinema owners and operators, at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas.

This isn't the first time that Katzenberg has been honored for his philanthropic work.  He received the Humanity Award from the USC Shoah Institute and serves as chairman of the Motion Picture and Television Fund Foundation.

Past "Pioneer of the Year" honorees include Cecil B. DeMille, Jack Warner, Darryl F. Zanuck, Frank G. Mancuso, Jack Valenti, Terry Semel, Sumner Redstone, Sherry Lansing, Alan Horn, Jeff Blake, Mike Campbell, Marc Shmuger, David Linde, Rob Moore and in 2011, Dick Cook.

Proceeds from the event go to the Motion Picture Pioneers Assistance Fund, an industry charity that helps movie industry veterans who are encountering an illness, injury or life-changing event.

  • Richard

    If he can get the MPTF off the dime and finally assure long term care at the Motion Picture Home, then he deserves an award of gratitude.  Hard to put that on a mantle, but its meaning won't be lost on anyone.  Where are we on that Jeff?  We are tired of broken dreams and empty promises.  People need to be admitted to the nursing home, which for all intents and purposes remains closed to new patients and residents.

  • Tisha

    Well deserved, Mr. Katzenberg, for oh so many reasons.