Writers Guild of America, West Announces 2012 Board of Directors

The union elected new leadership in New York and Los Angeles

The Los Angeles-based Writers Guild of America, West has selected its 2012 board of directors, the labor union announced Friday.


The eight elected officials — Chip Johannessen, Katherine Fugate, Michael Oates Palmer, John Aboud, Scott Alexander, David A. Goodman, Marjorie David, Kathy Kiernan — will serve a two-year term, effective immediately.

Related: Writers Guild Awards Set for Sunday, Feb. 17, 2013

More than 1,200 Guild members voted.

In other Guild news: By popular vote in New York on Thursday, the Writers Guild of America, East selected seven new freelance council members — John Auerbach, Walter Bernstein, Terry George, Gina Gionfriddo, Jenny Lumet, Lara Shapiro, Richard Veter — and three staffers — Art Daley, Patrick Mason and Ted Schreiber.

The union with east and west U.S. offices represents writers of motion pictures, television, radio and Internet programming, including news and documentaries. 

Continue Reading 0