As Critics’ Awards Keep Coming, It’s Turning Into a ’12 Years a Slave’ Runaway

With nearly two dozen regional groups picking the year’s best, Steve McQueen’s film has won three-quarters of the best-picture awards

Last Updated: July 10, 2014 @ 7:43 PM

“12 Years a Slave” continues to dominate the 2013 critics’ awards, winning more than 75 percent of the best-picture awards handed out by film critics’ groups to date.

With 26 different groups announcing their awards as of Dec. 18, Steve McQueen’s pre-Civil War drama has been named the year’s best film 20 times, with Spike Jonze’s “Her” a distant second with three best-picture citations and one tie with “Gravity.” “Inside Llewyn Davis” and “American Hustle” have each won a single award.

Also read: 2013 Critics’ Awards Winners: The Complete List – Toronto, Austin, Phoenix (Updated)

“12 Years” lead actor Chiwetel Ejiofor and supporting actress Lupita Nyong’o also have commanding leads over their fields, as does lead actress Cate Blanchett from “Blue Jasmine” and supporting actor Jared Leto from “Dallas Buyers Club.”

Here’s the rundown, with the following groups having announced: African-American Film Critics Association, Alliance of Women Film Journalists, Austin Film Critics Association, Boston Online Film Critics Association, Boston Society of Film Critics, Chicago Film Critics Association, Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association, Detroit Film Critics Society, Florida Film Critics Circle, Houston Film Critics Society, Indiana Film Journalists Association, Kansas City Film Critics Circle, Las Vegas Film Critics Association, Los Angeles Film Critics Association, Nevada Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Circle, Online Film Critics Society, Phoenix Film Critics Society, San Diego Film Critics Society, San Francisco Film Critics Circle, Southeastern Film Critics Association, St. Louis Gateway Film Critics Association, Toronto Film Critics Association, Utah Film Critics Association, Washington D.C. Area Film Critics Association, Women Film Critics Circle.

Totals that include a tie are indicated with an asterisk.

Best Picture:
“12 Years a Slave”: 20
“Her”: 4*
“American Hustle”: 1
“Inside Llewyn Davis”: 1
“Gravity”: 1*

Best Director:
Alfonso Cuaron, “Gravity”: 14*
Steve McQueen, “12 Years a Slave”: 12*

Best Actor:
Chiwetel Ejiofor, “12 Years a Slave”: 16
Matthew McConaughey, “Dallas Buyers Club”: 6
Oscar Isaac, “Inside Llewyn Davis”: 2
Bruce Dern, “Nebraska”: 1
Robert Redford, “All Is Lost”: 1
Forest Whitaker, “Lee Daniels’ The Butler”: 1

Best Actress:
Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine”: 17*
Sandra Bullock, “Gravity”: 3
Adele Exarchopoulos, “Blue is the Warmest Color”: 3*
Brie Larson, “Short Term 12”: 2
Judi Dench, “Philomena”: 1
Meryl Streep, “August: Osage County”: 1
Emma Thompson, “Saving Mr. Banks”: 1

Best Supporting Actor:
Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyers Club”: 20*
Michael Fassbender, “12 Years a Slave”: 2
James Franco, “Spring Breakers”: 2*
Barkhad Abdi, “Captain Phillips”: 1
Bill Nighy, “About Time”: 1

Best Supporting Actress:
Lupita Nyong’o, “12 Years a Slave”: 16
Jennifer Lawrence, “American Hustle”: 5
Scarlett Johansson, “Her”: 2
June Squibb, “Nebraska”: 1
Oprah Winfrey, “Lee Daniels’ The Butler”: 1
Shailene Woodley, “The Spectacular Now”: 1


Looks like you’re enjoying reading
Keep reading by creating
a free account or logging in.