We've Got Hollywood Covered

Academy Bends Three-Producer Rule for ‘Hurt Locker’

Four producers, including Kathryn Bigelow, will take credit for the Oscar-nominated film

The Academy is bending its rules over the number of producers attached to an Oscar-nominated film, naming four people eligible to take credit for "The Hurt Locker."
The foursome includes director Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal, Nicolas Chartier and Greg Shapiro.
The Academy’s press release is below:
Beverly Hills, CA — Producer credits for 82nd Academy Awards Best Picture nominees “The Blind Side” and “The Hurt Locker” have been determined by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Producers Branch Executive Committee. Credits are as follows:
“The Blind Side” – Gil Netter, Andrew A. Kosove and Broderick Johnson, producers.
“The Hurt Locker” – Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal, Nicolas Chartier and Greg Shapiro, producers.
Academy rules state that normally no more than three producers may be named as nominees in the Best Picture category. However, the rules allow for an additional producer to be named under extraordinary circumstances. In finding that all of the producers of “The Hurt Locker” had fully functioned as genuine producers of the film, the committee chose to exercise the “extraordinary circumstances” provision of the rules.
Producers for the other eight motion pictures nominated in the Best Picture category – “Avatar,” “District 9,” “An Education,” “Inglourious Basterds,” “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire,” “A Serious Man,” “Up” and “Up in the Air” – were announced on February 2 and remain unchanged.
Academy Awards for outstanding film achievements of 2009 will be presented on Sunday, March 7, 2010, at the Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center®, and televised live by the ABC Television Network. The Oscar presentation also will be televised live in more than 200 countries worldwide.

Please fill out this field.