We've Got Hollywood Covered

AFTRA Elects Board Members

Actor Ron Morgan re-elected president of AFTRA Los Angeles.

While debate over the new SAG TV-theatrical contract continues to drag on in advance of the June 9 ballot deadline, the American Federation of Television and Radio Artists announced the results of Los Angeles Local elections late Wednesday night, with most of its major leaders earning re-election.

The majority of local officers ran unopposed for new two-year terms, including actor Ron Morgan, who was re-elected as president, and Susan Boyd Joyce, who will return as first vice president.

In fact, the Los Angeles Local Board of Directors will welcome back 12 of its 17 members for three-year terms. Membership First, which opposes the new SAG deal and took a similar stance with AFTRA’s now ratified TV-theatrical contract last year, did gain a new member on the board — actor David Jolliffe.

On the national board, Los Angeles local will be assigned 26 of the 73 spots, though only 13 were up for election. The seats in the announcer and newsperson categories were assigned, and seven previous members were re-elected to four-year terms, including Morgan and Boyd Joyce. Of the four newly elected board members, two belong to Membership First — actors Anne-Marie Johnson and Alan Ruck.

Board members are officially seated after AFTRA’s National Convention Aug. 9 in Chicago, to which 198 L.A. delegates were elected. All Los Angeles Local officer and board terms begin July 1.