‘American Idol’ Return Date, Winter Schedule Set by Fox

New series “Cooper Barrett’s Guide to Surviving Life,” “Bordertown,” “Second Chance” and “Lucifer” get January premieres

24 Hours Earlier: Idol had just occupied the stage. (Getty Images)

Fox announced its winter premiere dates Tuesday, including the start of the final season of “American Idol.”

The reality singing competition series will return for Season 15 with a two-night premiere on Wednesday, Jan. 6 and Thursday, Jan. 7.

Four new series have also received premiere dates. “Cooper Barrett’s Guide to Surviving Life” and “Bordertown” are both set for Sunday, Jan. 3 and “Lucifer” will premiere on Monday, Jan. 25.

Frankenstein drama “Lookinglass” has been renamed again, and will premiere Wednesday, Jan. 13 with the new title “Second Chance.”

The network will also debut a new Tuesday night comedy line-up on Jan. 5, beginning with “New Girl” at 8 p.m., “Grandfathered” at 8:30, “Brooklyn Nine-Nine” at 9, and “The Grinder” at 9:30.

Additional premiere dates announced include “Sleepy Hollow” moving to Friday nights beginning Feb. 5; “Gotham” on Monday, Feb. 29; “Rosewood” on Wednesday, March 2; and “Empire” on Wednesday, March 30.

See the complete schedule below:

(Times for All-New Episodes are ET/PT Except as Noted)

Sunday, Jan. 3:
8:00-8:30 PM                                      THE SIMPSONS (Winter Return)
8:30-9:00 PM                                      COOPER BARRETT’S GUIDE TO SURVIVING LIFE
(Series Premiere)
9:00-9:30 PM                                      FAMILY GUY (Winter Return)
9:30-10:00 PM                                    BORDERTOWN (Series Premiere)

Monday, Jan. 4
8:00-10:00 PM                                    SUPERHUMAN (Two-Hour Special)

Tuesdays, beginning Jan. 5:
8:00-8:30 PM                                      NEW GIRL (Season Premiere)
8:30-9:00 PM                                      GRANDFATHERED (Time Period Premiere)
9:00-9:30 PM                                      BROOKLYN NINE-NINE (Time Period Premiere)
9:30-10:00 PM                                    THE GRINDER (Time Period Premiere)

Wednesday, Jan. 6:
8:00-10:00 PM                                    AMERICAN IDOL (Season Premiere, Part One)

Thursdays, beginning Jan. 7:
8:00-10:00 PM                                    AMERICAN IDOL (Season Premiere, Part Two)

Friday, Jan. 8:
8:00-10:00 PM                                    MASTERCHEF JUNIOR
(Winter Return/Special Two-Hour Episode)

Sundays, beginning Jan. 10:
7:30-8:00 PM                                      BOB’S BURGERS (Winter Return)
8:00-8:30 PM                                      THE SIMPSONS
8:30-9:00 PM                                      COOPER BARRETT’S GUIDE TO SURVIVING LIFE
9:00-9:30 PM                                      FAMILY GUY
9:30-10:00 PM                                    BORDERTOWN

Wednesdays, beginning Jan. 13:
8:00-9:00 PM                                      AMERICAN IDOL (Time Period Premiere)
9:00-10:00 PM                                    SECOND CHANCE (Series Premiere)

Fridays, beginning Jan. 15:
8:00-9:00 PM                                      MASTERCHEF JUNIOR
9:00-10:00 PM                                    HELL’S KITCHEN (Season Premiere)

Sunday, Jan. 24
10:00-11:00 PM ET/                           THE X-FILES (Season Premiere, Part One)
7:00-8:00 PM PT

Mondays, beginning Jan. 25
8:00-9:00 PM                                      THE X-FILES (Season Premiere, Part Two)
9:00-10:00 PM                                    LUCIFER (Series Premiere)

Sunday, Jan. 31
7:00-10:00 ET Live/                            GREASE: LIVE
PT tape-delayed

Fridays, beginning Feb. 5
8:00-9:00 PM                                      SLEEPY HOLLOW (Time Period / Spring Premiere)
9:00-10:00 PM                                    HELL’S KITCHEN

Mondays, beginning Feb. 29
8:00-9:00 PM                                      GOTHAM (Spring Premiere)
9:00-10:00 PM                                    LUCIFER

Wednesdays, beginning March 2
8:00-9:00 PM                                      ROSEWOOD (Spring Premiere)
9:00-10:00 PM                                    SECOND CHANCE

Wednesdays, beginning March 30
8:00-9:00 PM                                      ROSEWOOD
9:00-10:00 PM                                    EMPIRE (Spring Premiere)