Art Directors Guild Awards ‘Her,’ ‘Gravity,’ ‘Great Gatsby’ (Complete Winners List)

ADG splits its film awards into three different categories, and spreads the wealth; TV awards go to “Game of Thrones,” “Portlandia” and “Veep”

“The Great Gatsby,” “Gravity” and “Her” won the top film awards from the Art Directors Guild on Saturday night, an unsurprising outcome since all three films are among the Oscar nominees in the production-design category.

For its Art Directors Guild Excellence in Production Design Awards, the ADG splits its film categories into separate period-film, fantasy-film and contemporary-film categories. “Gatsby” was named tops in the period category, “Gravity” in fantasy and “Her” in contemporary.

Also read: ‘Her’ Designer: Instead of Trying to Create the Next iPhone, We Went in Another Direction

The results gave Warner Bros. a sweep of the ADG film awards, one night after Sony enjoyed its own two-film sweep at the ACE Eddie Awards, which were held in the same room, the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

The other two Oscar production-design nominees, “American Hustle” and “12 Years a Slave,” were both nominated by the ADG in the period category.

Over the first 17 years of the ADG Awards, winners went on to take the Oscar for art direction (now renamed production design) 10 times. Since the ADG split its film categories in 2000, all the Oscar winners have come from the guild’s period or fantasy categories.

On the television side, “Behind the Candelabra” won yet another TV-movie-or-miniseries award. But “Breaking Bad” had the rare experience of walking away from an awards show empty-handed, as the far more elaborate “Game of Thrones” took the prize for a one-hour single-camera series.

Also read: 15 Revealing Stills From ‘Game of Thrones’ Season 4: Peter Dinklage, Emilia Clarke and More (Photos)

“Veep” won a third award for HBO in the half-hour single-camera series category, while “Portlandia” won for a multi-camera, variety or unscripted series.

The ceremony was hosted by comedian Owen Benjamin.

In honorary awards, Martin Scorsese was presented with the Cinematic Imagery Award, while Rick Carter received the Lifetime Achievement Award. Robert Clatworthy, Harper Goff and J. Michael Riva were inducted into the ADG Hall of Fame.

The winners:

Period Film: “The Great Gatsby”; Production Designer: Catherine Martin

Fantasy Film: “Gravity”; Production Designer: Andy Nicholson
Contemporary Film:
“Her”; Production Designer: K.K. Barrett

One-Hour Single Camera Television Series: “Game of Thrones”; Production Designer: Gemma Jackson; Episode: “Valar Dohaeris”

Television Movie or Mini-Series:

”Behind the Candelabra”; Production Designer: Howard Cummings
Half Hour Single-Camera Television Series: “Veep”; Production Designer: Jim Gloster; Episode: “Helsinki”
Short Format, Live Action Series: “Battlestar Galactica: Blood and Chrome”; Production Designer: Brian Kane; Episode: Pilot
Multi-Camera, Variety, or Unscripted Series: “Portlandia”; Production Designer: Tyler Robinson; Episode: “Missionaries”
Awards, Music, or Game Shows:
The 67th Annual Tony Awards; Production Designer: Steve Bass
Commercial, PSA, Promo, and Music Video: “Call of Duty: Ghosts”; Production Designer: Todd Cherniawsky; Episode: “Epic Night Out”