We've Got Hollywood Covered

Artios Awards Nominate ‘Big Short,’ ‘Mad Max,’ ‘Spotlight’ and ‘Straight Outta Compton’ Casting Directors

”Room,“ ”Brooklyn,“ ”Carol,“ ”Joy“ and ”Star Wars: The Force Awakens“ also receive nominations in seven film categories

“The Big Short,” “Mad Max: Fury Road,” “Spotlight,” “Straight Outta Compton,” “Room,” “Brooklyn,” “Carol” and “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” were among the films whose costume directors have been nominated for the 31st annual Artios Awards, the Casting Society of America (CSA) announced on Monday.

Those awards contenders were joined in the seven movie categories by “Joy,” “Bridge of Spies,” “Me & Earl and the Dying Girl,” “While We’re Young,” “The Danish Girl,” “It Follows,” “The Good Dinosaur” and “Inside Out,” among other films.

Past winners include “The Wolf of Wall Street,” “Boyhood,” “Silver Linings Playbook,” “The Social Network,” “The Help” and Oscar Best Picture winners “12 Years a Slave,” “Argo,” “The Artist” and “The King’s Speech.”

In the Big Budget – Comedy category, the nominees were “The Big Short,” “The Intern,” “Joy,” “Sisters” and “Tomorrowland.” Big Budget – Drama nominees were “Bridge of Spies,” “Mad Max: Fury Road,” “Spotlight,” “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” and “Straight Outta Compton.”

Studio or indie nominees ranged from the comedies “Me & Earl and the Dying Girl,” “Infinitely Polar Bear” and “Ricki and the Flash” to the dramas “Brooklyn,” “Carol,” “The Danish Girl,” “Room” and “Trumbo.”

And low budget nominees included “Dope,” “Grandma,” “Mistress America,” “It Follows,” “James White” and “The Stanford Prison Experiment.”

The 31st annual Artios Awards will take place on Thursday, Jan. 21 in Los Angeles and New York. Special awards will go to director Danny Boyle, writer-producers Michelle and Robert King and casting director Bernard Telsey.

The nominees:

“The Big Short”: Francine Maisler, Meagan Lewis (Location Casting)
“The Intern”: Bernard Telsey, Laray Mayfield, Tiffany Little Canfield, David Vaccari (Associate)
“Joy”: Mary Vernieu, Lindsay Graham, Angela Peri (Location Casting)
“Sisters” Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee, Joey Montenarello (Associate), Adam Richards (Associate)
“Tomorrowland”: April Webster, Alyssa Weisberg, Corinne Clark (Location Casting), Jennifer Page (Location Casting)

“Bridge of Spies”: Ellen Lewis, Kate Sprance (Associate)
“Mad Max: Fury Road”: Ronna Kress, Nikki Barrett
“Spotlight”: Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee, John Buchan (Location Casting), Jason Knight (Location Casting), Carolyn Pickman (Location Casting), Joey Montenarello (Associate), Adam Richards (Associate)
“Star Wars: The Force Awakens”: Nina Gold, April Webster, Alyssa Weisberg,
Jessica Sherman (Associate)
“Straight Outta Compton”: Cindy Tolan, Victoria Thomas, Meagan Lewis
(Location Casting), Beth Sepko (Location Casting), Carolyn Pickman (Location Casting), Lucinda Syson (Location Casting), Pat Moran (Location Casting)

“Infinitely Polar Bear”: Douglas Aibel, Carolyn Pickman (Location Casting), Henry Russell Bergstein (Associate)
“Me & Earl and the Dying Girl”: Angela Demo, Nancy Mosser (Location Casting), Katie Shenot (Location Casting)
“Ricki and the Flash”: Bernard Telsey, Tiffany Little Canfield, Conrad Woolfe (Associate)
“Sleeping With Other People”: Jennifer Euston, Emer O’Callaghan
“While We’re Young”: Douglas Aibel, Francine Maisler, Henry Russell Bergstein (Associate)

“Brooklyn”: Fiona Weir, Lucie Robitaille (Location Casting), Jim Carnahan (Location Casting),
“Carol”: Laura Rosenthal, Maribeth Fox (Associate), Jodi Angstreich (Associate)
“The Danish Girl”: Nina Gold
“Room”: Fiona Weir, Robin D. Cook, Jonathan Oliveira (Associate)
“Trumbo”: David Rubin, Meagan Lewis (Location Casting), Melissa Pryor (Associate)

“Big Stone Gap”: Henry Russell Bergstein, Stephanie Holbrook, Erica Arvold, Anne Chapman
“Dope”: Kim Coleman
“Grandma”: Douglas Aibel, Henry Russell Bergstein
“The Mend”: Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee and Allison Estrin
“Mistress America”: Douglas Aibel, Henry Russell Bergstein (Associate)

“It Follows”: Mark Bennett
“James White”: Susan Shopmaker
“Meadowland”: Richard Hicks
“Sisterhood of Night”: Laura Rosenthal, Maribeth Fox, Jodi Angstreich
“The Stanford Prison Experiment”: Angela Demo

“The Good Dinosaur”: Kevin Reher, Natalie Lyon
“Inside Out”: Kevin Reher, Natalie Lyon
“Legend of the Neverbeast”: Jason Henkel
“Pixies”: Brad Gilmore