Chicago Critics: The Facebook Movie Wins Another

“The Social Network” juggernaut rolls on, with David Fincher’s film winning top honors from yet another critics group

The Chicago Film Critics Association has fallen right into line with all the other critics groups: after delaying the inevitable by first releasing its nominations last Friday, the group has announced that its choice for Best Picture of 2010 is, you guessed it, "The Social Network."

The Social NetworkAs usual, the film also picked up honors for David Fincher's direction and Aaron Sorkin's screenplay. Other winners were drawn from the usual suspects: Colin Firth and Natalie Portman in the lead acting categories, Christian Bale and Hailee Steinfeld for supporting.

Chicago's winner in the Best Original Score category, Clint Mansell for "Black Swan," has reportedly been disqualified by the Academy's music branch for using too much of Tchaikovsky's "Swan Lake" in his music.

The CFCA choices:
Best Picture: "The Social Network"
Best Director: David Fincher, "The Social Network"
Best Actor: Colin Firth, "The King’s Speech"
Best Actress: Natalie Portman, "Black Swan"
Best Supporting Actor: Christian Bale, "The Fighter"
Best Supporting Actress: Hailee Steinfeld, "True Grit"
Best Original Screenplay: Christopher Nolan, "Inception"
Best Adapted Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin, "The Social Network"
Best Cinematography: Wally Pfister, "Inception"
Best Original Score: Clint Mansell, "Black Swan"
Best Documentary: "Exit Through the Gift Shop"
Best Foreign Language Film: "A Prophet"
Best Animated Feature: "Toy Story 3"
Most Promising Performer: Jennifer Lawrence, "Winter’s Bone"
Most Promising Filmmaker: Derek Cianfrance, "Blue Valentine"