‘Game of Thrones,’ ‘Mad Men’ Among Nominees for Cinematographers Awards

American Society of Cinematographers nominates 15 shows in three television categories; "Hatfields & McCoys," "American Horror Story" and "The New Normal" also land noms

"Mad Men," "Game of Thrones," "American Horror Story," "Hatfields & McCoys" and "The New Normal" are among the television programs whose cinematography has been honored by the American Society of Cinematographers, which announced its TV nominees on Wednesday.

The ASC, an invitation-only organization of cinematographers with a membership of 300 active members and more than 150 associate members, announced 15 nominations in three categories for the 27th Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography.

Game of ThronesMichael Goi, who had been nominated twice previously, received nominations in two different categories, one for "American Horror Story: Asylum" and one for "The New Normal."

A number of the other nominees are previous ASC nominees or winners. In the one-hour episodic TV category, David Moxness ("Fringe") and David Stockton ("Alcatraz") are past winners, and Chris Manley ("Mad Men") and Kramer Morgenthau ("Game of Thrones," above) are now four-time nominees.

In the half-hour episodic TV category, Peter Levy ("House of Lies") and Michael Price ("Happy Endings") are previous nominees.

Fox led all networks with three nominations, followed by FX, HBO and Cinemax with two each.

Nominations in the ASC's feature-film category will be announced on Jan. 9. Winners will be announced at the ASC Awards on Feb. 10 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom in the Hollywood & Highland Center.

The nominees:

One-hour Episodic Television Series:
Balazs Bolygo, HSC for "Hunted" (episode “Mort”)
Chris Manley, ASC for "Mad Men" (“The Phantom”)
Kramer Morgenthau, ASC for "Game of Thrones" (“The North Remembers”)
David Moxness, CSC, ASC for "Fringe" (“Letters of Transit”)
Mike Spragg for "Strike Back" (Episode 11)
David Stockton, ASC for "Alcatraz" (Pilot)

Television Movie/Miniseries:
Michael Goi, ASC for "American Horror Story: Asylum" (“I am Anne Frank: Part 2”)
Florian Hoffmeister for the Masterpiece presentation of "Great Expectations"
Arthur Reinhart for "Hatfields & McCoys"
Rogier Stoffers, ASC for "Hemingway & Gellhorn"

Half-hour Episodic Series:
Ken Glassing for "Ben and Kate" (“Guitar Face”)
Michael Goi, ASC for "The New Normal" (“Pilot”)
Peter Levy, ASC for "House of Lies" (“Gods of Dangerous Financial Instruments”)
Bradford Lipson for "Wilfred" (“Truth”)
Michael Price for "Happy Endings" (“Four Weddings and a Funeral (Minus Three Weddings and One Funeral)”