‘Hugo’ Sounds Best to Cinema Audio Society

Martin Scorsese’s “Hugo” wins CAS Award for film; “Boardwalk Empire,” “Too Big to Fail,” “Deadliest Catch” take TV honors

Martin Scorsese's "Hugo" has been honored for its achievement in sound mixing by the Cinema Audio Society, which gave out its 48th CAS Awards on Saturday night.

In the three television categories, the winners were "Too Big to Fail" (movies and mini-series), "Boardwalk Empire" (television series) and "Deadliest Catch" (non-fiction, variety or music series or special).

Asa Butterfield in HugoIn the past 18 years, the CAS winner has gone on to win the Oscar for sound mixing nine times. Six of those came in a six-year stretch from 1996 through 2001. The winners have only agreed three times in the last 10 years, though two of those came in the last three years.

Of this year's five CAS nominees, only "Hugo" and "Moneyball" were also nominated by the Academy. "Hannah," "Super 8" and "Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides" were nominated by the CAS, while Oscar voters opted for "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo," "Transformers: Dark of the Moon" and "War Horse" instead.

The Motion Picture Sound Editors, who honor the art of sound editing rather than sound mixing, will give out their awards on Sunday night.

In non-competitive awards handed out at the show, Director Rob Marshall was awarded the Cinema Audio Society Filmmaker Award, while Scott Millan was given the CAS Career Achievement Award.

The ceremony took place in the Crystal Ballroom of the Millennium-Biltmore Hotel in downtown Los Angeles.

The Cinema Audio Society is not a professional guild, but a philanthropic, non-profit organization founded in 1964 as a way for sound professionals to share information.

The winners:

Motion Pictures: "Hugo"
Television Movies and Mini-Series: "Too Big to Fail"
Television Series: "Boardwalk Empire: To the Lost"
Television – Non-Fiction, Variety or Music – Series or Specials: "Deadliest Catch: New Blood"
Production: Zaxcom Nomad Production Sound System
Post-Production: AVID Pro-Tools 10

CAS Filmmaker Award: Rob Marshall
CAS Career Achievement Award: Scott Millan