Palm Springs Adds to ‘Social Network’ Awards Haul

Facebook drama’s cast named to receive Ensemble Performance Award at January fest

Because it hasn't gotten enough awards this season, "The Social Network" has been chosen to receive the Ensemble Performance Award at the 2011 Palm Springs International Film Festival.

The Social Network castThe cast of the David Fincher drama, which has rolled through awards season winning almost every available honor, will receive the award at PSIFF's Festival Awards Gala on January 8 at the Palm Springs Convention Center.  Cast members Jesse Eisenberg, Andrew Garfield and Justin Timberlake (left) are expected to attend, along with Armie Hammer and Rooney Mara. 

Fincher will present the award to his cast.

“Every so often, a movie comes along with performances that set the standard for a generation of actors," said PSIFF chairman Harold Matzner in a press release announcing the award. "'The Social Network' combines a theme that defines our time with performances that redefine acting for the screen."

Other honorees at the event include Javier Bardem, Robert Duvall, Colin Firth, Jennifer Lawrence, Carey Mulligan, Natalie Portman, David O. Russell and Diane Warren.