Phil Robinson to Produce Governors Awards

“Field of Dreams” screenwriter will oversee ceremony where the Irving G. Thalberg and Jean Hersholt awards are handed out

Writer-director Phil Robinson will produce the Governors Awards for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the organization announced on Monday.

Robinson will share producing duties with Charlie Haykel and Juliane Hare of Don Mischer Productions.

They will take over from former Academy president Sid Ganis, who produced the show last year. 

The Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award, the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award and the Honorary Award, or some combination thereof, will be presented at the event, set for Saturday, November 12. The Governors Awards were launched in 2009 as a way to streamline the Oscar telecast and give out more Honorary Academy Awards, which had been restricted to one or two per year when they were handed out on Oscar night.

Though the awards were previously televised as part of the Oscar ceremony, these lifetime achievement designations are now handed out in a more informal celebration that has been a big hit with members, who find it more collegial and informal than the telecast.

The new production team are hardly Oscar neophytes. Robinson received an Oscar nomination for the adapted screenplay for Best Picture nominee “Field of Dreams (1989),” which he also directed. His other credits include “Sneakers” and “The Sum of All Fears.” He serves on the Academy’s Board of Governors representing the Writers Branch. 

Haykel and Hare most recently executive produced “Oscars Red Carpet Live,” the 90-minute red carpet arrivals show that immediately preceded the 83rd Academy Awards telecast in February. They were also consulting producers for the Oscar telecast.