‘Boyhood’ and ‘Grand Budapest Hotel’ Win Top Prizes From American Cinema Editors

TV awards go to “Veep,” “True Detective,” “Sherlock” and “The Normal Heart”

Last Updated: January 31, 2015 @ 11:05 AM

“Boyhood” and “The Grand Budapest Hotel” won the top film honors at the American Cinema Editors’ Eddie Awards on Friday night, with “Boyhood” editor Sandra Adair taking home the award for the best-edited dramatic feature, and “Budapest’s” Barney Pilling winning for the best edited comedy or musical film.

While “Boyhood” was favored in the drama category, “Birdman” was a slight favorite over “Budapest” for comedy, though the fact that “Birdman” was not nominated for its editing by the Academy did show a potential weakness among editors.

“Citizenfour” won the documentary award, while “The Lego Movie” was named the best-edited animated feature.

Also read: What ‘Birdman’s’ Big Awards Weekend Means for a Wild Oscar Race

In the television categories, the editors honored the half-hour series “Veep,” the one-hour series “True Detective” and “Sherlock: His Last Vow,” the HBO movie “The Normal Heart” and the non-scripted series “Anthony Bourdain Parts Unknown.”

Since 2000, all but three of the 15 Oscar winners for film editing have first won the ACE/Eddie. One exception was last year, when “Gravity” won the Oscar but “Captain Phillips” and “American Hustle” won the Eddies.

The show took place at the Beverly Hilton Hotel and was hosted by “24” actress and comedian Mary Lynn Rajskub. Honorary awards went to producer Frank Marshall, editors Diane Adler and Jerry Greenberg and journalist Carolyn Giardina.

See video: ‘Selma’ Director Ava DuVernay on Oscar Nominations: ‘We Were Not Snubbed’ (Video)

The winners:

Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic): “Boyhood,” Sandra Adair, ACE
Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy or Musical): “The Grand Budapest Hotel,” Barney Pilling
Best Edited Animated Feature Film: “The Lego Movie,” David Burrows & Chris McKay
Best Edited Documentary (Feature): “Citizenfour,” Mathilde Bonnefoy

Best Edited Documentary (Television): “The Roosevelts: An Intimate History: Episode 3 / The Fire of Life,” Erik Ewers
Best Edited Half-Hour Series for Television: “Veep”: “Special Relationship,” Anthony Boys
Best Edited One-Hour Series for Commercial Television: “Sherlock: His Last Vow,” Yan Miles
Best Edited One-Hour Series for Non-Commerical Television: “True Detective”: “Who Goes There,” Affonso Goncalves
Best Edited Miniseries or Motion Picture for Television:
“The Normal Heart,” Adam Penn
Best Edited Non-Scripted Series:
Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown”: “Iran,” Hunter Gross

Student Editing Award: Johnny Sepulveda

ACE Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year Award: Frank Marshall
Lifetime Career Achievement Awards: Diane Adler and Jerry Greenberg
Robert Wise Award: Carolyn Giardina