British Indie Awards: ‘The King’s Speech’ vs. ‘Kick-Ass’

Nominations include expected competitors (“The King’s Speech”) alongside real surprises (“Kick-Ass,” “Monsters”)

Now, here’s  an awards show that likes to throw some surprises into the mix.

The 13th Moet British Independent Film Awards announced its nominations in London on Monday morning – and in news that was entirely predictable, Tom Hooper’s “The King’s Speech” was the top nominee, with eight nominations.

The King's SpeechBut that film’s company in the Best British Independent Film category contained some real shockers: instead of films like “Made in Dagenham” and “Another Year,” which are thought to be real Oscar contenders, the BIFA jury opted for Chris Morris’ raucous terrorist comedy “Four Lions,” Mark Romanek’s moving “Never Let Me Go,” Gareth Edwards’ ultra-low-budget alien flick “Monsters” and Matthew Vaughn’s superhero comedy “Kick-Ass.”

That “Kick-Ass” and “Monsters” edged out Mike Leigh (“Another Year”) and Nigel Cole (“Dagenham”) has to be considered a major surprise, particularly since Leigh was nominated for Best Director, while Morris was not. 

“The King’s Speech” picked up four acting nominations, as well as nods for picture, director, screenplay and technical achievement. “Monsters” and Clio Barnard’s documentary “The Arbor” received six nominations, while “Four Lions” received four.

The Argentinian Oscar-winner “The Secret in Their Eyes” was nominated for Best Foreign Film, along with “Dogtooth” (from Greece), “I Am Love” (Italy), “A Prophet” (France) and the American indie “Winter’s Bone.”

The awards will be handed out on December 5 at the Old Billingsgate in London.

The full list of nominees:

Kick-AssBest British Independent Film:
“Four Lions”
“The King’s Speech”
“Never Let Me Go”

Best Director:
Mike Leigh, “Another Year”
Matthew Vaughn, “Kick-Ass”
Tom Hooper, “The King’s Speech”
Gareth Edwards, “Monsters”
Mark Romanek, “Never Let Me Go”

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director):
Debs Gardner Paterson, “Africa United”
Clio Barnard, “The Arbor”
Rowan Joffe, “Brighton Rock”

Chris Morris, “Four Lions
Gareth Edwards, “Monsters”

Best Screenplay:
Jesse Armstrong, Sam Bain, Simon Blackwell, Christopher Morris, “Four Lions”
Jane Goldman & Matthew Vaughn, “Kick-Ass”

David Seidler, “The King’s Speech”
William Ivory, “Made In Dagenham”
Alex Garland, “Never Let Me Go”

Best Actress: 

Manjinder Virk, “The Arbor”
Ruth Sheen, “Another Year”
Andrea Riseborough, “Brighton Rock”
Sally Hawkins, “Made In Dagenham”
Carey Mulligan, “Never Let Me Go”

Best Actor:
Jim Broadbent, “Another Year”
Riz Ahmed, “Four Lions”
Colin Firth, “The King’s Speech”
Scoot McNairy, “Monsters”
Aidan Gillen, “Treacle Junior”

Best Supporting Actress:
Lesley Manville, “Another Year”
Helena Bonham Carter, “The King’s Speech”
Rosamund Pike, “Made In Dagenham”
Keira Knightley, “Never Let Me Go
Tamsin Greig, “Tamara Drewe”

Best Supporting Actor:
Kayvan Novak, “Four Lions”
Guy Pearce, “The King’s Speech”
Geoffrey Rush, “The King’s Speech”
Bob Hoskins, “Made In Dagenham”
Andrew Garfield, “Never Let Me Go”

Most Promising Newcomer:
Manjinder Virk, “The Arbor”
Andrea Riseborough, “Brighton Rock”
Tom Hughes, “Cemetery Junction
Joanne Froggatt, “In Our Name”
Conor McCarron, “Neds”

Best Achievement in Production:
”The Arbor”
In Our Name”
Streetdance 3D”

Raindance Award:
Brilliant Love”
”Jackboots On Whitehall”
”Son Of Babylon”
Treacle Junior”

Best Technical Achievement:
“The Arbor” – Sound, Tim Barker
Brighton Rock” – Cinematography, John Mathieson

“The Illusionist” – Animation, Sylvain Chomet

“The King’s Speech” – Production Design, Eve Stewart

“Monsters” – Visual Effects, Gareth Edwards

Best Documentary:
The Arbor”
”Enemies of the People
“Exit Through the Gift Shop
“Fire In Babylon”
Waste Land”

Best British Short:
Photograph Of Jesus”
Sign Language
The Road Home”

Best Foreign Film:
I Am Love”
A Prophet”
The Secret In Their Eyes”
Winter’s Bone”