Carmike President S. David Passman Re-Elected Chair of National Assn. of Theater Owners

Movie chain operators meet with legislators despite the federal government shutdown

Carmike Cinemas President and Chief Executive S. David Passman has been re-elected chairman of the National Assn of Theater Owners, the organization said Tuesday.

The voting was held at the Park Hyatt Hotel in Washington, D.C., where delegates to NATO’s annual gathering met with lawmakers – despite the federal government shutdown – and elected new officers.

Also read: MoviePass Goes Netflix — Can It Avoid Theater Owners’ Anger This Time?

Regal Chief Executive Amy Miles was elected vice-chairman, Foothills Entertainment President Byron Barkley was re-elected treasurer and Southern Theaters Chief Executive George Solomon was voted in as secretary.

The officers are all members of the group’s executive board, made up of 17 leaders in the domestic exhibition industry, and will serve two-year terms.

Despite the government shutdown, NATO members met with legislators and their staffs on issues ranging from implementation of new health care regulations to access for disabled patrons, enforcement of the voluntary ratings system, and rules regarding upcoming laser projection in cinemas.