Cinematographers Nominate ‘Social Network,’ ‘King’s Speech,’ ‘True Grit’

“Inception” and “Black Swan” round out the field, which omits well-regarded “127 Hours” and “Shutter Island” cinematography

Last Updated: January 10, 2011 @ 7:00 PM

The American Society of Cinematographers announced its nominations on Monday, picking almost the same slate of films that the Directors Guild of America chose earlier in the day.

True Grit"Black Swan," "Inception," "The King's Speech" and "The Social Network" were all honored for their cinematography, just as they were earlier for their directing. The only difference: the ASC opted for Roger Deakins for "True Grit" (left), while the directors had chosen D avid O. Russell for "The Fighter."

Deakins is already being honored with the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award at the upcoming ceremony.

The ASC nominees, besides Deakins, are Matthew Libatique for "Black Swan," Wally Pfister for "Inception," Danny Cohen for "The King's Speech" and Jeff Cronenweth for "The Social Network."

The highly-regarded camera work on "Shutter Island" (Robert Richardson) and "127 Hours" (Enrique Chediak and Anthony Dod Mantle) were the most conspicuous missing nominees on the ASC slate.

The ASC awards will take place on February 13 at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

The nominees for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography for Motion Pictures:

“Black Swan,” Matthew Libatique
“Inception,” Wally Pfister
“The King’s Speech,” Danny Cohen
“The Social Network,” Jeff Cronenweth
“True Grit,” Roger Deakins