Cory Monteith Film ‘All the Right Reasons’ Added to Toronto Film Fest

Other Canadian films added to festival lineup include new work from Denis Villeneuve, Bruce McDonald and Xavier Dolan

One of the final films from Cory Monteith has been added to the lineup at the 2013 Toronto International Film Festival, TIFF organizers announced at a press conference on Wednesday.

Cory Monteith“All the Wrong Reasons,” a drama with intersecting characters in which Monteith stars as a department store manager, has been added to the Discovery section of the festival, and is one of 20 Canadian features announced on Wednesday. The film had been rumored to be TIFF-bound, but the fest had not confirmed its inclusion.

Other additions to the lineup include new films from noted Canadian directors Denis Villeneuve, Bruce McDonald, Xavier Dolan and Jennifer Baichwal.

“The scope of this year’s feature films is as broad as Canada’s filmmaking community and demonstrates the deep versatility of our filmmakers,” said TIFF senior programmer Steve Gravestock in a press release announcing the new titles. “From clever, biting satire to intimate social commentary, powerful dramas and even a truly magical comedy, the settings and themes vary, but the perspectives are always uniquely Canadian.”

In the Special Presentations program, the six Canadian additions include Denis Villeneuve’s “Enemy,” with Jake Gyllenhaal in a double role (below); Bruce McDonald’s “The Husband,” about a man whose wife has been jailed for sleeping with a 14-year-old boy; Xavier Dolan’s “Tom at the Farm,” the fourth feature from the 24-year-old provocateur; and Jennifer Baichwal’s and Edward Burtynsky’s “Watermark,” a new documentary from the director of “Payback” and “Act of God.”

EnemyAdditions to the Discovery program include “Sarah Prefers to Run” from Chloe Robichaud, along with debut features from Gia Milani (“All the Wrong Reasons,” with Monteith) and Jeff Barnaby (“Rhymes for Young Ghouls,” about kids on the Red Crow reservation).

Other films added to the lineup include new work from Bruce Sweeney (“The Dick Knost Show,” a satire of sports-talk culture), Terry Miles (“Cinemanovels,” with Lauren Lee Smith and Jennifer Beals) and Bruce LaBruce (“Gerontophilia,” about a teenage boy who helps an old man escape from a nursing home).

TIFF also announced that filmmakers Danis Tanovic and Patricia Rozema will be among the governors who will mentor participants in the festival’s 10th anniversary Talent Lab, and that special guests who will speak to the 20 participants will include Alfonso Cuaron, Tom Tykwer, Jason Reitman, Deepa Mehta and Jennifer Baichwal.

In addition, it revealed that the four actors named 2013 TIFF Rising Stars are Evelyne Brochu (“Tom a la ferme,” “Polytechnique”), Cara Gee (“Empire of Dirt”), Megan Park (“The F Word,” “Charlie Bartlett”) and Johnathan Sousa (“The Animal Project,” “What We Have”), all of whom will undergo a “boot camp” with casting directors, agents, managers, producers and development executives.

Other TIFF announcements on Wednesday included the finalists for the Telefilm Canada Pitch This! Competition, in which six teams will have six minutes each to pitch their idea for a feature film to a panel of industry experts, and the participants in Producers Lab Toronto, a program of pitching sessions, roundtable meetings and case studies with 24 producers from Europe, Canada, Australia and New Zealand.

Finally, the festival announced that the Short Cuts Canada program will include 39 shorts from Canadian filmmakers, including “Candy” from David Cronenberg’s daughter, Cassandra Cronenberg, and the animated 3D short "Subconscious Password" from Chris Landreth, who won an Academy Award for his short "Ryan."

For the first time, the Canadian shorts will be available on YouTube 24 hours after their festival debuts. The full list of shorts can be found at the TIFF website.

Enemy Denis Villeneuve, Canada/Spain (World Premiere)
The F Word Michael Dowse, Canada/Ireland (World Premiere)
Gabrielle Louise Archambault, Canada (North American Premiere)
The Husband Bruce McDonald, Canada (World Premiere)
Tom At The Farm (Tom à la ferme) Xavier Dolan, Canada/France (North American Premiere)
Watermark Jennifer Baichwal and Edward Burtynsky, Canada (World Premiere)

All the Wrong Reasons Gia Milani, Canada (World Premiere)
Rhymes for Young Ghouls Jeff Barnaby, Canada (World Premiere)
Sarah Prefers To Run (Sarah préfère la course) Chloé Robichaud, Canada (Toronto Premiere)

A Journey (Une Jeune Fille) Catherine Martin, Canada (World Premiere)
The Animal Project Ingrid Veninger, Canada (World Premiere)
Cinemanovels Terry Miles, Canada (World Premiere)
Le Démantèlement Sébastien Pilote, Canada (North American Premiere)
Empire of Dirt Peter Stebbings, Canada (World Premiere)
Siddharth Richie Mehta, Canada (North American Premiere)
Stay Wiebke von Carolsfeld, Canada/Ireland (World Premiere)

Asphalt Watches Seth Scriver and Shayne Ehman, Canada (World Premiere)
Gerontophilia Bruce LaBruce, Canada (North American Premiere)

Triptych (Triptyque) Robert Lepage and Pedro Pires, Canada (World Premiere)

Kaveh Nabatian
Stay Girl John Christou, Daniel Beirne, Aisling Chin-Yee and Jacob Tierney
Tempest Storm: Burlesque Queen Nimisha Mukerji
The Engineers Daniel Cockburn and Daniel Bekerman
Window Watching Andrew Nicholas McCann Smith, Svjetlana Jaklenec and Laura Perlmutter
You Can Live Forever in a Paradise on Earth Mark Slutsky and Sarah Fobes

European participants: Pandora da Cunha Telles, Ukbar Filmes (Portugal); Yael Fogiel, Les Films du Poissons (France); David Grumbach, Juliette Films (Luxembourg); Katie Holly, Bl!nder Films (Ireland); Sinisa Juricic, Nukleus Film (Croatia); Leila Lyytikäinen, Fisher King Productions (Finland); Kim Magnusson, Dansk film Kompagni (Denmark); David Matamoros, Zentropa International (Spain); Leontine Petit, Lemming Film (Netherlands); Adrian Sturges, Picture Farm (UK)
Canadian participants: Matthew Cervi, Mad Samurai Productions; Anne-Marie Gélinas, EMAfilms; Jennifer Holness, Hungry Eyes Film & Television; Alex Lalonde, First Generation Films; Mark Montefiore, Montefiore Films; Gerry Lattmann, Dot Com Film Company; Amber Ripley, Foundation Features; Julia Sereny, Sienna Films; Anna Stratton, Triptych Media; Ingrid Veninger, pUNK Films
Australian participants: Melanie Coombs, Optimism film; Mathew Dabner, Blue Tongue
New Zealand participants: Fiona Copland, filmwork; Robin Laing, StellaFilm

Canadian participants: Juan Andres Arango, Alexandre Auger, Annick Blanc, Valerie Buhagiar, Naomi Jaye, Jason Lepeyre, Shannon Masters, Evan Morgan, Carlo Guillermo Proto and Grace Wang
International participants: Jens Assur (Sweden), Aristotelis Maragkos (Greece), Catriona MacInnes (Scotland), Byoung-Gon Moon (Korea), Kareem Mortimer (Bahamas), Deepak Rauniyar (Nepal), Marialy Rivas (Chile), Anocha Suwichakornpong (Thailand), Musa Syeed (USA) and Bassam Tariq (USA/Pakistan)