Danny Glover, Adrian Grenier Join Artists Against Trump Campaign

Democratic Coalition Against Trump recruits 30 artists to help stop the presumptive GOP nominee “from making it anywhere near the White House”

Democratic Coalition Against Trump
Democratic Coalition Against Trump

Danny Glover, Adrian Grenier, “Daily Show” co-creator Lizz Winstead and the Comedy Central show’s former correspondent Aasif Mandvi are among the the 30 performers who have joined a campaign aimed at keeping Donald Trump as far away from the White House as possible.

They’re four of the 30 artists teaming up for the Artists Against Trump campaign launched by Democratic Coalition Against Trump.

“We couldn’t be happier to kick off our Artists Against Trump campaign with this impressive group of artists,” organization chairman Jon Cooper said.

Cooper previously served as national finance chair for the Draft Biden effort and fundraised for President Obama’s 2008 and 2012 campaigns. The Democratic Coalition Against Trump has chairs in all 50 states and D.C. The state chairs of the coalition include Democratic elected officials, party chairs, superdelegates, delegates, grassroots leaders and activists.

“The Democratic Coalition Against Trump looks to implement a rapid response communications strategy, which involves a coordinated local and national 50­state plan. The Artists Against Trump campaign helps us raise the awareness and money we need to be both effective and credible,” coalition senior advisor Scott Dworkin said. “We want Democrats to be able to call out Trump and, maybe more importantly, the elected officials who support him.”

The Democratic Coalition Against Trump says its mission is to “Stop Trump from making it anywhere near the White House.” The group’s literature says, “If you support Trump’s hate and lies, you’re not fit to hold local, state or federal office.” The group is funded by the “Keep America Great” Super Pac, which allows it to take contributions in unlimited amounts.

“It’s clear from how quickly we were able to assemble the coalition and the Artists Against Trump campaign that there is a hunger for a centralized anti­Trump attack vehicle. We’re happy to provide Democrats across the country with that vehicle,” coalition executive director Nathan Lerner said.

Other members of the Artist Against Trump campaign include: Andy Juett (Comedian, Funny or Die, Sexpot Comedy); Autumn Hurlbert (Actress; Legally Blonde: The Musical); Ben Bass (Actor, Rookie Blue, Forever Knight); Casey Feigh (Actor/Writer, Funny or Die, Tosh.0); Christine Pelosi (Author/Activist); David Chernin (Producer, It’s Always Sunny); Daniel Goldstein (Writer/Director, Godspell); Emily Schmidt (Upright Citizens Brigade); Eric Gilliland (Executive Producer, Roseanne, The Wonder Years); George Barber (Upright Citizen’s Brigade); Heath Cullens (Director/Producer, It’s Always Sunny); Howie Klein (Concert Promoter, Music Producer); Jake Regal (Upright Citizens Brigade); Jamie Gaul (Actress, Improv, General Hospital); Jamie McGurk (Producer); Joe Wengert (Writer, New Girl, Kroll Show); John Chernin (Producer, It’s Always Sunny); Justin Tanner (Writer); Kay Cannon (Writer/actress, 30 Rock, Pitch Perfect); Kayla Alpert (Producer/Writer, Confessions of a Shopaholic); Kristin Carey (Actress, Hall Pass); Laura Dawn (Creative Director of Art not War); Patrick Jean (Director, Pixels); Skyler Stone (Actress, Rules of Engagement, Raising Hope); Thesy Surface (Actress, It’s Always Sunny); Timm Sharp (Actor, Undeclared, Six Feet Under); Timothy Dowling (Co-wrote Role Models, Just Go With It, Pixels, This Means War); Will McLaughlin (Upright Citizens Brigade; Parks & Rec, Curb Your Enthusiasm, The League) and Zeke Thomas (DJ/Music Producer).