We've Got Hollywood Covered

‘Dope’ Soundtrack Gets Release Date

Fans who pre-order before the album drops on June 16 will get an original track early

The soundtrack for “Dope,” a new comedy that made waves at the Sundance Film Festival, will be released on June 16.

Curated by Grammy-winning artist and producer Pharrell Williams, the soundtrack will be released ahead of the film’s theatrical release.

The kickoff song from the album, “Don’t Get Deleted” — served up in the film by its three main characters via their band Awreeoh — will be offered to fans who pre-order the soundtrack, with the tune’s official video premiering on VEVO on June 4. Williams executive produced the movie in addition to producing all of Awreeoh’s tracks.

“Dope” is written and directed by Rick Famuyiwa (“The Wood,” “Brown Sugar”) and stars Shameik Moore, Tony Revolori, Kiersey Clemons, Blake Anderson, Zoë Kravitz and A$AP Rocky. In addition to Williams’ involvement, the film was produced by Forest Whitaker and co-executive produced by Sean Combs.

The film follows a nerdy trio of South Los Angeles high schoolers obsessed with ’90s hip-hop culture — played by Revolori, Clemons and newcomer Moore in the lead role — surviving life in their tough neighborhood while juggling job applications, academic interviews and the SAT.

A chance invitation to an underground party leads the three into an adventure with the power to advance Malcom from being a geek to being dope, and ultimately being himself.

Open Road Films and Sony Pictures secured the movie for domestic and international distribution, respectively, for initial release in more than 2,000 theaters nationwide on June 19.

Read the full track list below.

1. “Rebirth of Slick,” Digable Planets
2. “Can’t Bring Me Down,” Awreeoh
3. “The World Is Yours,” Nas
4. “Go Head,” Awreeoh
5. “Rebel Without A Pause,” Public Enemy
6. “Don’t Get Deleted,” Awreeoh
7. “Scenario,” A Tribe Called Quest
8. “Cocaina Shawty,” Kap G
9. “Poppin’ Off,” Watch The Duck
10. “The Humpty Dance,” Digital Underground
11. “New Money,” Buddy
12. “Hip Hop Hooray,” Naughty By Nature
13. “Dirty Feeling,” LolaWolf
14. “Home Is Where The Hatred Is,” Gil Scott-Herron
15. “It’s My Turn Now,” Awreeoh

Please fill out this field.