Kathryn Bigelow, Michael Moore Elected to AMPAS Board of Governors

“Lawrence of Arabia” editor Anne Coates also becomes new governor

Best Director winner Kathryn Bigelow has been elected to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ board of governors, AMPAS announced on Wednesday.

Oscar-winning documentary filmmaker Michael Moore was also chosen as a governor for the first time, as was film editor Anne Coates, who won an Oscar for editing “Lawrence of Arabia.”

Kathryn BigelowAlthough the Academy was criticized for the fact that Bigelow’s win made her the first female Best Director recipient in the organization’s 82-year history, her election means two of the three governors from the directors branch are now women. (Martha Coolidge is the other.)

Seven of the Academy's 43 governors are now women.

One-third of the Academy’s governors – one from each of the organizations 15 branches — are up for re-election every year. Governors may serve three consecutive three-year terms. 

Governors elected this year include three who are returning to the board after a hiatus: John Bailey from the cinematographers branch, Ed Begley Jr. from the actors branch and Jon Bloom from the short films and feature animation branch.

Re-elected governors are Curt Behlmer from the sound branch; Rosemary Brandenburg, art directors; Richard Edlund, visual effects; Leonard Engelman, makeup artists and hairstylists; Charles Fox, music; Jim Gianopulos, executives; Hawk Koch, producers; Marvin Levy, public relations; and Frank Pierson, writers.

Each Academy branch is represented by three governors, except the makeup artists and hairstylists, who are represented by one.

The current makeup of the AMPAS board of governors:

Actors Branch:
Ed Begley Jr.
Annette Bening
Tom Hanks

Art Directors Branch:
Jim Bissell
Rosemary Brandenburg
Jeffrey Kurland

Cinematographers Branch:
John Bailey
Caleb Deschanel
Owen Roizman

Directors Branch:
Kathryn Bigelow
Martha Coolidge
Edward Zwick

Documentary Branch:
Rob Epstein
Lynne Littman
Michael Moore

Executives Branch:
Jim Gianopulos
Robert Rehme
Tom Sherak

Film Editors Branch:
Donn Cambern
Anne Coates
Mark Goldblatt

Music Branch:
Bruce Broughton
Charles Fox
Arthur Hamilton

Makeup Artists and Hairstylists:
Leonard Engleman

Producers Branch:
Mark Johnson
Kathleen Kennedy
Hawk Koch

Public Relations Branch:
Robert G. Friedman
Sid Ganis
Marvin Levy

Short Films and Feature Animation:
Jon Bloom
Bill Kroyer
John Lasseter

Sound Branch:
Curt Behlmer
Don Hall
Kevin O’Connell

Visual Effects:
Craig Barron
Richard Edlund
Bill Taylor

Writers Branch:
James L. Brooks
Frank Pierson
Phil Robinson