‘Eat Sleep Die’ Wins AFI Fest’s New Auteurs Grand Jury Prize

American Film Institute's audience and jury awards went to 13 films

The American Film Institute on Thursday named the winners of its festival's Audience and Jury awards, including the Swedish movie "Eat Sleep Die" as its New Auteurs grand jury prize.

Getty ImagesThree films won grand jury prizes — in the categories New Auteurs, and live-action and animated shorts. Four others took home audience awards — worth a $5,000 cash prize — for the Young Americans, World Cinema, New Auteurs and Breakthrough brackets.

“It has been an incredible year in film and we’re grateful for having had the opportunity to showcase so many wonderful films,” Jacqueline Lyanga, Director of AFI fest, said in a statement. “Our desire is to have these films reach an even wider audience after these eight festival days, and that our jury and audience awards contribute to building an audience for these films.”

The festival, which ran from Nov. 1-8, screened its winners Thursday at the Chinese 6 Theatre in Los Angeles.

Here's a complete list of winners:

Grand Jury Award, New Auteurs:

Grand Jury Award: "Eat Sleep Die" for director Gabriela Pichler’s “sensitive portrait of a young woman fighting to keep her job and her dignity in the globalized economy, driven by an energetic performance from Nermina Lukac, is an extraordinary work accessible to many audiences.”

Special Mention for Performance: "Simon Killer" star Mati Diop for “her contribution to 'Simon Killer' as both an actress and screenwriter.”

Special Mention:  "Here And There" by Antonio Mendez Esparza for “its honest depiction of lives that are otherwise often invisible in our society.”

Grand Jury Awards, Live Action and Animated Shorts

Grand Jury Award, Live Action Short: "Introducing: Bobby" by Roger Hayn “for crafting an honest vision of America by making an insightful portrayal of a single man.”

Grand Jury Award, Animated Short: "Oh Willy…" by Emma De Swaef and Marc Roels “for melding a dynamic narrative with innovative animation style that leads the viewer to pure wonderment.”

Special Jury Award for Animation: "Belly" by Julia Pott “for its personal touch to technique and playful storytelling that is a welcome addition to the pantheon of animation.”

Special Jury Award for Documentary Filmmaking: "Whateverest" by Kristoffer Borgli “for constructing a film that contextualizes the digital generation and reflects on what happens when we turn the camera onto ourselves.”

Honorable Mention for Performance:  "Narcocorrido" for Raul Castillo’s “penetrating lead performance that conveys a sense of loss that leaves a lasting mark on the audience.”

Honorable Mention for Promising Vision: "Dogs Are Said to See Things" by Guto Parente “for pulling together social criticism with a pool party and actually making something fresh and smart.”

Audience Awards

Audience Award, World Cinema: "A Royal Affair" by Nikolaj Arcel. Denmark/Sweden/Czech Republic/Germany.

Audience Award, New Auteurs:  "A Hijacking" by Tobias Lindholm. Denmark.

Audience Award, Young Americans: "Only the Young" by Jason Tippet, Elizabeth Mims. USA.

Audience Award, Breakthrough:  "Nairobi Half Life" by David Tosh Gitonga. Kenya/Germany.