‘The Pub,’ ‘Magnesium,’ ‘Whateverest’ Compete in TheWrap’s ShortList Film Festival

Our second annual short-film festival features 12 finalists in narrative, documentary and animated categories

Last Updated: July 16, 2014 @ 3:24 PM

Joseph Pierce's animated short "The Pub," Sam de Jong's 20-minute narrative "Magnesium" and Kristoffer Borgli's short documentary "Whateverest" are three finalists competing for two prizes in TheWrap's second annual "ShortList" Online Film Festival.

The films are available to viewed and voted for until Aug. 29, when the winners of the Industry and Audience Awards will be announced during a ceremony at the Santa Monica Airport.

Also read: 'Black Metal,' 'Fear of Flying,' 'The Last Ice Merchant' Among ShortList Film Festival Highlights

Produced in the U.K., "The Pub" is an eighgt-minute animated film that takes audiences through the murky slipstream of a day in a North London pub, while introducing a number of the interesting characters that frequent the watering hole. Pierce's surreal short was named Best Experimental Short at the 2012 Los Angeles Film Festival.

"Magnesium" — screened at film festivals around the world, including the 2013 Sundance Film Festival — follows a talented young gymnast who makes a life-changing discovery as she prepares for a tournament, which is her last shot to reach the top. De Jong's live-action narrative short won the Tuschinski Award at the 2012 Netherlands Film Festival.

Borgli's "Whateverest" is a doc about the unlikely inspiration behind a dance tune produced by Todd Terje called "Inspector Norse." The song title is named after the internet alias of Marius Solem Johansen — a failed musician that produces dance videos and drug recipes for YouTube from his small-town home in Norway. The 16-minute short took home the Special Jury Award at AFI Fest in 2012.

Also read: ShortList Film Festival to Stream Aug. 19-29 – Meet the Industry Jury!

The two winning films will air on MTV Networks' film channel, while the Industry Award — decided by a six-person jury panel of veteran independent film professionals —  will result in a first-look deal with the independent movie studio Cinedigm.

Remember, you can only vote once. Watch all 12 finalists, and make your vote count!