‘Any Day Now’ Wins Twice at Seattle International Film Festival

The audience votes Travis Fine's "Any Day Now" top film and its star Alan Cumming best actor at the Seattle International Film Festival

"Any Day Now" captured the Golden Space Needle audience award for best feature and its star Alan Cumming was named best actor Sunday at the Seattle International Film Festival.

"Any Day Now," directed by Travis Fine, is set in the late 1970s. When a mentally handicapped teenager is abandoned, a gay couple takes him in and becomes the family he's never had.

Jamie Chung of best feature runnerup "Eden" was named best actress. Benh Zeitlin took home the best director honors for "Beasts of the Southern Wild."

There were three competition awards. Nicolas Provost took the grand jury price for "The Invader." The documentary award went "Five Star Existence" from Finland's Sonja Linden. Keith Miller's "Welcome to Pine Hill" was the winner of the FIPRESCI for best new American film.

Also read: Sissy Spacek: ‘Hollywood Gobbles Up Actresses Like a Piranha’

"CatCam," directed by Seth Keal, was named best short film.

Seattle director Megan Griffiths' "Eden" was named winner of the Reel NW award, for best film with a Pacific Northwest connection.

The 25-day festival, which began May 17, featured over 460 films from more than 70 countries, including 65 premieres and over 700 screenings.

“A festival's success is dependent on two basic principles: providing a platform for filmmakers to be celebrated and connecting them to audience members that would not otherwise be aware of their remarkable stories,” said SIFF Artistic Director Carl Spence in a release. “This year a record number of filmmakers participated in person and online with virtual Q&A's successfully expanding the conversation around the best in cinema with passionate audiences, illuminating guests and distinguished industry in attendance.” 

Festival highlights included career honors for Oscar-winning actress Sissy Spacek and director William Friedkin during SIFF’s annual Tribute Awards.