NBC’s ‘Chicago Med’ Names New Showrunners

“The Sopranos” duo Andrew Schneider and Diane Frolov will take reins at new Dick Wolf spinoff

NBC’s “Chicago Med” has named Andrew Schneider and Diane Frolov as its new executive producers and writing showrunners following the exit of Andrew Dettman earlier this month.

The latest addition to the Dick Wolf franchise that also includes “Chicago Fire” and “Chicago PD,” revolves around the day-to-day chaos of the city’s most explosive hospital and the courageous team of doctors who hold it together. They will tackle unique new cases inspired by topical events, and familiar faces from the Chicago police and fire departments will intertwine as this third team of Chicago heroes hits the ground running.

Schneider and Frolov most recently served as co-EPs on HBO’s “Boardwalk Empire” and consulting producers on Amazon’s “Bosch.”

Oliver Platt, S. Epatha Merkerson, Laurie Holden, Nick Gehlfuss and Yaya Dacosta are among the cast of “Chicago Med.”

The upcoming series was bumped up from midseason to the fall schedule by NBC as a replacement for “Heartbreaker.” That series has been pushed back due to “Heartbreaker” star Melissa George’s pregnancy.

Wolf, Schneider and Frolov are represented by WME.