Neil Patrick Harris’ Writing Team Set for Oscars

Awards veteran Dave Boone to serve as head writer for the ABC broadcast’s special material writing team

NPH academy awards 2015 host
Getty Images

Neil Patrick Harris writing team for 87th Oscars was unveiled on Tuesday

The “How I Met Your Mother” star and veteran awards show host will head up the special material writing team for the ABC broadcast, along with Emmy Award-winner Dave Boone, according to Oscars producers Craig Zadan and Neil Meron.

The special material writing team also includes writer-producer Paul Greenberg, Mason Steinberg, Derek DelGaudio, Liz Feldman, Paula Pell and Tim Carvell.

Boone is an Oscar veteran who has previously worked on eight telecasts. He won Emmys for his work on the 63rd and 64th Tony Awards and a slew of other nominations, including for his work on the 84th Oscars, which Billy Crystal hosted, and the 70th and 71st Golden Globe Awards. Additional writing credits include the “Primetime Emmy Awards,” “The Neighborhood Ball: An Inauguration Celebration,” “Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest” and ABC’s “Dancing With the Stars.”

WME represents him.

Greenberg is also an Emmy winner, having won an award for his work on the 63rd Tony Awards alongside Boone. Additional writing credits include “The Ellen DeGeneres Show,” the “Primetime Emmy Awards” and the “People’s Choice Awards.”

Steinberg has been nominated for three Emmy Awards and his TV credits the 84th Academy Awards, the “MTV Movie Awards” and scripted comedies like Comedy Central’s “Crank Yankers,” MTV’s “The Andy Milonakis Show” and CBS’ “The Crazy Ones.”

DelGaudio is a performance artist and writer who co-starred in Harris’ theatrical magic show, “Nothing to Hide.”

Feldman has won four Emmy Awards for her work as a writer and producer on “Ellen.” She wrote for the 79th and 86th Academy Awards telecasts and serves as a writer and producer on CBS’ “2 Broke Girls.” She created a new comedy series for NBC, “One Big Happy,” launching in 2015.

Pell is a vetran comedy writer who has worked on “Saturday Night Live” for two decades. She executive produced Judd Apatow‘s “This Is 40” and wrote “The Nest,” which features Amy Poehler and Tina Fey and will be released in 2015.

Carvell is a writer and executive producer on HBO’s “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver.” He’s worked three previous Oscar telecasts and wrote for Comedy Central’s “The Daily Show with Jon Stewart” for ten years, racking up six Emmy Awards for his work.

As TheWrap previously reported, director Hamish Hamilton, production designer Derek McLane, choreographer Rob Ashford and longtime Oscar-show veterans Michael Seligman and Robert Dickinson are also part of the 87th Academy Awards’ production team.

Newcomers include the show’s head writer Greg Berlanti (“Dawson’s Creek”) and music director Stephen Oremus (“The Book of Mormon.”)

The 87th Oscars air live on ABC, Sunday, Feb. 22, 2015 from the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, Los Angeles.