Oscars Best Original Song Winner Robert Lopez Now Youngest EGOT Member

Lopez wins for co-writing “Let It Go” from Best Animated Feature “Frozen”

Last Updated: August 4, 2014 @ 11:10 AM

With his Best Original Song Oscar win for “Let It Go,” Robert Lopez is now the youngest person to have won a competitive Emmy, Grammy, Oscar and Tony — and he’s the fastest to get there.

Also read: Oscars: The Complete Winners List

At the age of 39, Lopez, who co-wrote the Oscar-winning original song from “Frozen” with his wife, Kristen Anderson, joins a very small group of only 12 people to have one the major awards superfecta, known as the “EGOT,” a term coined by first winner Richard Rodgers.

The latest winner started on the EGOT journey in 2004 Tony for Best Original Score for raunchy puppet comedy “Avenue Q.” Lopez next won the Daytime Emmy for Best Music Direction and Composition for “The Wonder Pets” in 2008

Also read: Oscars: ‘Frozen’ Director Chris Buck Dedicates Academy Award to Dead Son – ‘My Guardian Angel’

In just the past two years, Lopez won the 2012 Grammy for Best Musical Theater Album for “The Book of Mormon,” which he developed with “South Park” creators Trey Parker and Matt Stone, and tonight’s win rounds out the EGOT.

The 10-year span from first to last win is the fastest anyone has achieved the honor.

Here are the 11 other winners:

Richard Rodgers – Composer, best known for being half of the acclaimed musical team of Rodgers & Hammerstein
E: 1962 – Best Original Music, Composed – “Winston Churchill: The Valiant Years”
G: 1960 – Best Show Album – “The Sound of Music”
O: 1945 – Best Song – “It Might as Well Be Spring” from “State Fair”
T: 1950 – Best Musical – “South Pacific”

Also read: John Travolta Butchers Idina Menzel’s Name, Inspiring ‘Adele Dazeem’ Madness (Video)

Helen Hayes – Actress and Philanthropist, “First Lady of American Theater”
E: 1953 – Best Actress – “Schlitz Playhouse of Stars”
G: 1977 – Best Spoken Word Recording – “Great American Documents”
O: 1932 – Best Actress – “The Sin of Madelon Claudet”
T: 1947 – Best Actress, Drama – “Happy Birthday”

Rita Moreno – Singer and actress, the trailblazing first Hispanic member of the EGOT club
E: 1977 – Best Supporting Actress in Variety or Music – “The Muppet Show”
G: 1972 – Best Recording for Children – “The Electric Company”
O: 1961 – Best Supporting Actress – “West Side Story”
T: 1975 – Best Supporting Actress in a Play – “The Ritz”

See video: Oscars: Pink Sings ‘Somewhere Over The Rainbow’ in ‘Wizard of Oz’ Tribute (Video)

John Gielgud – English actor known for starring role in “Beckett”
E: 1991 – Best Actor in a Miniseries or Special – “Summer’s Lease”
G: 1979 – Best Spoken Word, Documentary or Drama – “Ages of Man”
O: 1981 – Best Supporting Actor – “Arthur”
T: 1948 – Best Foreign Company – “The Importance of Being Earnest”

Audrey Hepburn – Film and fashion icon
E: 1993 – Best Informational Programming – “Gardens of the World with Audrey Hepburn”
G: 1994 – Best Spoken Word Album for Children, “Audrey Hepburn’s Enchanted Tales”
O: 1953 – Best Actress – “Roman Holiday”
T: 1954 – Best Actress, Drama – “Ondine”

Also read: Oscars Backstage: Lupita Nyong’o Says ‘You Have to Allow for the Impossible to be Possible’

Marvin Hamlisch – Composer and conductor who not only won the EGOT, but also two Golden Globes and a Pulitzer Prize
E: 1995 – Best Music Direction – “Barbra: The Concert”
G: 1973 – Song of the Year – “The Way We Were”
O: 1973 – Best Original Dramatic Score – “The Way We Were”
T: 1976 – Best Musical Score – “A Chorus Line”

Jonathan Tunick – Director and composer best known for his work with Stephen Sondheim
E: 1982 – Best Music Direction – “Night of 100 Stars”
G: 1988 – Best Arrangement Accompanying Vocals – “No One Is Alone”
O: 1977 – Best Original Score – “A Little Night Music”
T: 1997 – Best Orchestrations – “Titanic”

See video: Oscars: Karen O Teams Up with Vampire Weekend’s Ezra Koenig to Sing ‘The Moon Song’ (Video)

Mel Brooks – Writer, director, actor, comedy legend
E: 1967 – Best Writing, Variety – “The Sid Caesar, Imogene Coca, Carl Reiner, Howard Morris Special”
G: 1998 – Best Spoken Comedy Album – “The 2000 Year Old Man in the Year 2000”
O: 1968 – Best Original Screenplay – “The Producers”
T: 2001 – Best Musical – “The Producers”

Mike Nichols – Director and comedian
E: 2001 – Best Directing for Miniseries, Movie or Special – “Wit”
G: 1961 – Best Comedy Performance – “An Evening with Mike Nichols and Elaine May”
O: 1967 – Best Director – “The Graduate”
T: 1964 – Best Director, Drama – “Barefoot in the Park”

See photos: Oscars Red Carpet Arrivals (Photos)

Whoopi Goldberg – Actress and comedienne, current co-host of ABC’s “The View”
E: 2002 – Best Special Class Special – “Beyond Tara: The Extraordinary Life of Hattie McDaniel” (Daytime Emmy)
G: 1985 – Best Comedy Recording – “Whoopi Goldberg
O: 1990 – Best Supporting Actress – “Ghost”
T: 2002 – Best Musical – “Thoroughly Modern Millie”

Scott Rudin – The first producer to win an EGOT
E: 1984 – Best Children’s Program – “He Makes Me Feel Like Dancin'”
G: 2012 – Best Musical Theater Album – “The Book of Mormon”
O: 2007 – Best Picture – “No Country for Old Men”
T: 1994 – Best Musical – “Passion”


The news
you need now,
more than ever.

Click here to see our discounted pricing - up to 70% off
Try PRO today