Palm Springs Fest Taps Reitman for Director Honor

Jeremy Renner, T Bone Burnett also will receive awards at the desert film gathering.

Last Updated: December 10, 2009 @ 4:04 PM

The Palm Springs International Film Festival continued to add to its kudos slate, announcing Thursday that Jason Reitman ("Up in the Air") will be honored as director of the year.

Also at the Jan. 5 awards gala, Jeremy Renner will receive a Breakthrough Performance Award and T Bone Burnett will receive the Frederick Loewe Award for Film Composing.

The festival is set for Jan. 5-18.

Read more in the Hollywood Reporter.