We've Got Hollywood Covered

Rehme Elected to Head Academy Foundation

Foundation allows AMPAS to present its public programs like the ”Gold Standard,“ ”Oscar’s Docs“ and ”Contemporary Documentaries“ screening series.

Robert Rehme, an Executives Branch governor of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, was elected as president of the Academy Foundation, AMPAS announced Wednesday.


Others who will serve on the educational and cultural arm of the Academy include: Actors Branch governor Annette Bening, elected vice president; Film Editors Branch governor Donn Cambern, re-elected vice president; Public Relations Branch governor Sid Ganis, re-elected treasurer; and Executives Branch governor and newly elected Academy President Tom Sherak, re-elected secretary. Academy Executive Director Bruce Davis will remain executive secretary of the Foundation.


The Foundation allows the Academy to present its public programs like the "Gold Standard," "Oscar’s Docs" and "Contemporary Documentaries" screening series. In addition, it also presents Science and Technology Council programming and exhibitions like the upcoming “Art of the Movie Poster: Illustrated One-Sheets and Design Concepts from the Paul Crifo Archive” and “Irving Thalberg: Creating the Hollywood Studio System, 1920-36." Both will be on display at the Academy’s Beverly Hills headquarters beginning September 17.  


Established in 1942, the Foundation also conducts annual awards, Nicholl fellowships and screenwriting competitions.

Academy Foundation trustees for 2009–2010 are Bening (Actors Branch), James L. Brooks (Writers), Cambern, Caleb Deschanel (Cinematographers), Ganis, Jim Gianopulos (Executives), Mark Goldblatt (Film Editors), Arthur Hamilton (Music), Kathleen Kennedy (Producers), John Lasseter (Short Films and Feature Animation), Kevin O’Connell (Sound), Frank Pierson (Writers), Rehme, Sherak, Bill Taylor (Visual Effects) and Henry Winkler (Actors).