We've Got Hollywood Covered

Santa Barbara Fest Gives Directing Awards to Richard Linklater, Morten Tyldum and Bennett Miller

Damien Chazelle and Laura Poitras will also receive the festival’s new Directors of the Year Award


Richard Linklater, Damien Chazelle, Morten Tyldum, Bennett Miller and Laura Poitras will receive the new Outstanding Directors of the Year Award at the Santa Barbara International Film Festival.

While the festival has long honored single directors, and has hosted a panel of directors every year, it has expanded the panel in its 30th anniversary year to include the presentation of the new award.

See photos: 19 Biggest Snubs and Surprises: Oscars 2015

Linklater, Tyldum and Miller are nominated for the Best Director Oscar for “Boyhood,” “The Imitation Game” and “Foxcatcher,” respectively. Linklater and Tyldum are also DGA nominees.

Chazelle wrote and directed the Best Picture nominee “Whiplash,” while Poitras directed the Best Documentary Feature nominee “Citizenfour.”

The presentation and panel will take place on Feb. 4 at the Arlington Theatre in the coastal town north of Los Angeles.