Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewski Named to Screenwriting Hall of Fame

Final Draft Hall of Fame will make “Big Eyes” and “Ed Wood” writers the first team to be inducted

scott_alexander_larry_karaszewski emmy nominations
Andy Marx

“Big Eyes” and “Ed Wood” screenwriters Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewski will be inducted into the Final Draft Hall of Fame, the first time a writing team has received the honor.

Final Draft, Inc. announced the induction on Tuesday, and will officially induct Alexander and Karaszewski on Feb. 12 at the Paramount Theatre on the Paramount Pictures lot in Los Angeles.

Previous inductees include Nancy Meyers, Lawrence Kasdan, Steven Zaillian, Aaron Sorkin, Robert Towne, Stephen J. Cannell, Oliver Stone, Syd Field and Sydney Pollack.

Alexander and Karaszewski are best known for a string of offbeat films they wrote about unusual people: “Ed Wood,” about the hapless cross-dressing director of the 1950s; “The People v. Larry Flynt,” about the porn magnate turned First Amendment crusader; “Man on the Moon,” about comic Andy Kaufman; and the upcoming “Big Eyes,” about the battle between artist Margaret Keane and her husband Walter, who took credit for her work.

They also produced “Big Eyes,” which was directed by Tim Burton, and worked for more than a decade to get it made.

The two writers met as roommates at USC film school, and have also written the screenplays for “Problem Child,” “Screwed,” “Agent Cody Banks” and “1408.”

They are currently working on “American Crime Story: The People v. O.J. Simpson,” a 10-hour FX miniseries on the Simpson trial produced by Ryan Murphy.

This marks the 10th anniversary of the Final Draft Awards. The Feb. 12 ceremony will be hosted by Thomas Lennon and Robert Ben Garant.