Screen Actors Guild Picks Jan. 30 for Next Year’s Awards

SAG puts an early claim on a date that will fall on what should be a crowded awards weekend

The Screen Actors Guild has staked out the last Saturday in January for its 2016 SAG Awards show, the guild announced on Wednesday.

The 22nd annual show will take place on Saturday, Jan. 30, a week later than this year’s show, which was held on Sunday, Jan. 24.

Nominations voting will run from Nov. 18 through Dec. 7, with nominations announced on Dec. 9. Final voting information will be sent to members on Dec. 16, with final ballots due on Jan. 29.

See video: RIP Oscar Season: TheWrap’s In Memorian for Awards 2014-2015 (Video)

The last two weekends in January are typically crowded with awards shows, making it important for guilds to stake out their territory early. This year, SAG and the Producers Guild handed out awards on the second-to-last weekend, with the Art Directors Guild Awards, the Annie Awards and the Scripter Awards all taking place on the final Saturday in January.

All four of this year’s SAG film-acting winners went on to win the Academy Award, marking the second consecutive year that SAG and the Oscars were a perfect match. The film that won the SAG ensemble-cast award, “Birdman,” also won Best Picture at the Oscars.

Also read: 10 Moments to Remember From a Wild and Weird Awards Season

Here are the key dates for the awards:

Thursday, Feb. 26, 2015: 
Deadline for SAG-AFTRA Members to Pay November 2014 Dues to be Eligible for SAG Awards Nominating Committee Selection

Friday, March 13: 
Nominating Committees Drawn by Random Sample

Monday, March 30: 
Notification of Selection Mailed to Nominating Committee Members

Wednesday, May 13: 
Deadline for Selected Members to Opt-in to Serve on Nominating Committees

Monday, July 6: 
Submissions Open at sagawards.org/submissions

Thursday, Oct. 1: 
Period to Request Paper Final Ballots in Lieu of Online Voting Begins

Thursday, Oct. 1: Media Nominations and Ceremony Credential Applications Open

Thursday, Oct. 22: 
Submissions Close at 5 p.m. PT at sagawards.org/submissions

Friday, Oct. 30: 
Media Nominations and Ceremony Credential Applications Close

Monday, Nov. 2: 
Publicists Nominations Credentials Applications Open

Wednesday, Nov. 18: 
Nominations Ballots Mailed

Friday, Nov. 20: 
Publicists Nominations Credentials Applications Close

Tuesday, Dec. 1: 
Deadline for Paying November 2015 Dues and/or Changing Address with SAG-AFTRA to be Eligible for Final Balloting

Monday, Dec. 7: 
Nomination Ballots Due at the Elections Firm by 12 Noon p.m. PT

Tuesday, Dec 8: 
Records Pulled for Final Balloting

Wednesday, Dec. 9: 
Nominations Announced

Thursday, Dec. 10: Publicists Ceremony Credentials Applications Open

Wednesday, Dec. 16: Final Voting Information Mailed to Members

Monday, Jan. 11, 2016: 
Publicists Ceremony Credentials Applications Close

Wednesday, Jan. 13: Final Day to Request Paper Final Ballots in Lieu of Online Voting

Friday, Jan. 29: 
Final Votes Must be Cast Online or Ballots Received by the Elections Firm by 12 Noon PT

Saturday, Jan. 30: 
22nd Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards