‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ Crashes Screenwriters Choice Award Nominations

Other nominees include “The Big Short,” “The Martian,” “Bridge of Spies,” “Ex Machina” and “Inside Out”

“Bridge of Spies,” “Ex Machina,” “Inside Out,” “The Big Short,” “The Martian” and “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” are the feature-film nominees for the 11th annual Screenwriters Choice Awards, Final Draft announced on Friday.

Five of the six nominees are also nominated for screenwriting Oscars, with “Star Wars” being the exception.

Oscar nominees not recognized by the voters, who are registered users of Final Draft software, are “Brooklyn,” “Carol,” “Room,” “Spotlight” and “Straight Outta Compton.”

In the television categories, “Downton Abbey,” “Fargo” and “Game of Thrones” were nominated for drama, while “The Big Bang Theory,” “Modern Family” and “Orange Is the New Black” were singled out for comedy.

The Screenwriters Choice Awards will take place on Feb. 11 at the Paramount Theatre on the Paramount Studios lot.

At the ceremony, the Hall of Fame Award will go to Paul Schrader, whose screenplays include “Taxi Driver” and “Raging Bull.”

The nominees:

“Bridge of Spies” – Matt Charman, The Coen Brothers
“Ex Machina” – Alex Garland
“Inside Out” – Pete Docter, Meg LaFauve, Josh Cooley

“The Big Short” – Adam McKay, Charles Randolph (book by Michael Lewis)
“The Martian” – Drew Goddard (book by Andy Weir)
“Star Wars: The Force Awakens” – Lawrence Kasdan & J.J. Abrams and Michael Arndt (characters by George Lucas)

“Downton Abbey” – Julian Fellowes
“Fargo” – Steve Blackman, Robert De Laurentiis, Noah Hawley
“Game of Thrones” – D.B. Weiss and David Benioff

“The Big Bang Theory” – Chuck Lorre, Bill Prady
“Modern Family” – Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd
“Orange is the New Black” – Jenji Kohan