Whoopi Goldberg, Geena Davis Make the Cut in Oscars’ Election, But Ted Sarandos Doesn’t

Four members from each branch will now move to a second round of voting for the AMPAS Board of Governors

Academy logo

Geena Davis, Whoopi Goldberg, Morgan Spurlock, Michael De Luca, Ed Catmull and John Ridley are among the Academy members who have made the final ballot for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Board of Governors, the Academy informed its members on Friday in an email.

Also in the running are Hawk Koch and Rob Friedman, who are expected to contend for the job of Academy president when Cheryl Boone Isaacs finishes her last term in August.

Rita Wilson is in the running for a seat representing the Actors Branch; if elected, she will join her husband Tom Hanks as a governor of the branch.

Netflix chief Ted Sarandos submitted his name for election in the Executives Branch, but he did not make the final four from his branch.

Also falling short in the first round of voting: actors Sally Kirkland and Tim Matheson, director Brett Ratner and producers Suzanne Todd, Paula Wagner and Irwin Winkler.

A full 19 people ran for the opening in the Producers Branch, the most of any branch.

Nine of the 65 candidates are incumbents, who are typically returned to their seats. All of the incumbents who ran for re-election made the final ballot.

Each branch now has four remaining candidates for one open seat, with the exception of the Costume Designers Branch, which has three, and the Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch, which has two. Those branches have fewer candidates because more members did not put themselves up for election.

Each of the 17 branches is represented by three governors. They serve staggered three-year terms, with one seat from each branch up for election each year.

The board election will begin on Monday, June 19 and end on Friday, June 23. The existing board will meet for one last time on June 27, with the newly-elected board members joining for an early August meeting at which the next Academy president will be elected.

The finalists:

Actors Branch:
Geena Davis
Whoopi Goldberg
Edward James Olmos
Rita Wilson

Casting Directors Branch:
Kerry Barden
Lora Kennedy (incumbent)
Joseph Middleton
Ilene Starger

Cinematographers Branch:
Dion Beebe
Russell P. Carpenter
Guillermo Navarro
Mandy Walker

Costume Designers Branch:
Judianna Makovsky
Ellen Mirojnick
Isis Mussenden

Designers Branch:
Rosemary Brandenburg
John F. DeCuir, Jr.
Melissa Stewart
Wynn P. Thomas

Directors Branch:
John Badham
Kasi Lemmons
Kimberly Peirce
Donald M. Petrie

Documentary Branch:
Kate Amend (incumbent)
Julie Goldman
Morgan Spurlock
Molly Thompson

Executives Branch:
Dick Cook
Daniel R. Fellman (incumbent)
Lucy Fisher
David Linde

Film Editors Branch:
Dody J. Dorn
Tina Hirsch
Richard Marks
Michael Tronick (incumbent)

Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch:
Kathryn L. Blondell (incumbent)
Martin Samuel

Music Branch:
Alan Bergman
Charles Bernstein (incumbent)
John C. Debney
Charles Fox

Producers Branch:
Albert Berger (incumbent)
Jason Blum
Michael De Luca
Hawk Koch

Public Relations Branch:
Tony Angellotti
Bruce R. Feldman
Rob Friedman
Christina Kounelias

Short Films and Feature Animation Branch:
Darlie Brewster
Edwin Catmull
Bob Kurtz
Thomas R. Sito

Sound Branch:
Bobbi Banks
Teri E. Dorman
Anna MacKenzie
Mark Mangini (incumbent)

Visual Effects Branch:
Richard Edlund
Joe Letteri
Theresa Ellis Rygiel
Bill Taylor (incumbent)

Writers Branch:
Larry Karaszewski
Aline Brosh McKenna
John Ridley
Dana Stevens