Writers Guild Awards Set for Sunday, Feb. 17, 2013

WGAW and WGAE will host simultaneous ceremonies in New York and Los Angeles

The Writers Guild of America, West and the Writers Guild of America, East announced Thursday that the 2013 Writers Guild Awards will be held on Sunday, Feb. 17, 2013, at simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York.

The Writers Guild Awards honor outstanding writing in film, television, new media, videogames, news, radio, promotional, and graphic animation awards categories. The awards will be held for the first time at the JW Marriott in Los Angeles, along with the B.B. King Blues Club in New York.

Also read: 'The Help' Wins WGA's Paul Selvin Award

The nominations for TV, radio, news, promotional writing and graphic animation will be announced Thursday, Dec. 6. Theatrical and documentary screenplay nominees will be announced Thursday, Jan. 3, 2013. Video and news media writing nominees will be announced Wednesday, Jan. 16.

The deadline for submission in the drama, comedy and new TV series categories is Friday, Oct. 12. The deadline for the TV-radio and Paul Selvin Award scripts is the same day.

To be eligible in the TV long form, episodic, animation and children's script categories, the shows must have been broadcast between Dec. 1, 2011 and Nov. 30, 2012. For all other TV categories, the eligibility period is from Oct. 1, 2011, to Sept. 30, 2012.

For film screenplays, the movies must have been exhibited theatrically for one week during 2012; documentaries must have been exhibited in Los Angeles or New York for a week during 2012.

For more information about the submission process, guidelines, and official entry forms, visit www.wga.org.

The Producers Guild Awards will be held on Saturday, Jan. 26, 2013, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles, the PGA announced Wednesday. Michael De Luca will produce and chair the event.

The nominees for TV and digital and feature documentary films will be announced on November 28. Nominees for animated and live-action films and long-form TV will be announced on Jan. 3, 2013.

For more information on the PGA Awards, go to www.proudcersguild.org.


Looks like you’re enjoying reading
Keep reading by creating
a free account or logging in.