Snoop Dogg Set to Hit the Ice to Open NHL All-Star Skills Competition

The hip-hop star will take to the ice as DJ Snoopadelic at L.A.’s Staples Center on Saturday

The NHL All-Star weekend suddenly got a whole lot relaxed as the league has announced that Snoop Dogg will be opening the Skills Competition on Saturday, Jan. 28.

The hip-hop star will man the decks as DJ Snoopadelic on the ice at Staples Center in Los Angeles during player introductions at 4 p.m. PT before the All-Stars show off their talents in six events.

Snoop, who tried his hand at being a sports reporter last year at Super Bowl 50, will be followed by pop star Nick Jonas performing during the second intermission of the 2017 Honda NHL All-Star Game on Sunday.

Other musical stars entertaining fans hockey in Los Angeles at the home of the L.A. Kings this coming weekend are Fifth Harmony, Carly Rae Jepsen, Robin Thicke, John Legend and John Ondrasik from Five for Fighting.

“Mad Men” star and St. Louis Blues fan Jon Hamm will host “The NHL 100” gala on Friday night, which is billed as the largest gathering ever of hockey legends.

Also on Friday, “Blurred Lines” singer Robin Thicke will deliver what is destined to be an emotional tribute to his late father, Alan. In his speech, he will honor the “Growing Pains” star who died suddenly on Dec. 13 while watching his youngest son, Carter, play hockey in Burbank, California.

The 2017 Honda NHL All-Star Weekend will begin with the opening of the 2017 NHL Fan Fair, including the NHL Centennial Fan Arena, on Thursday, Jan. 26; continue with the celebration of the 100 Greatest NHL Players at THE NHL100 presented by GEICO on Friday, Jan. 27 (6:30 p.m. PT / 9:30 p.m. ET, NBCSN, SN, TVAS) and the 2017 Coors Light NHL All-Star Skills Competition™ on Saturday, Jan. 28 (4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET, NBCSN, CBC, SN, TVAS); and conclude with the 2017 Honda NHL All-Star Game on Sunday, Jan. 29 (12:30 p.m. PT / 3:30 p.m. ET, NBC, CBC, SN, TVAS). Visit NHL.com/AllStar for more information. Fans can follow the conversation via the official hashtags: #NHL100 and #NHLAllStar.