‘Fargo’ Adds Michael Stuhlbarg to Season 3 Cast

Shea Whigham, Thomas Mann also join third installment of FX anthology series

Michael Stuhlbarg Fargo

“Fargo” has added Michael Stuhlbarg, Shea Whigham and Thomas Mann to its Season 3 cast, TheWrap has learned.

Additionally, Karan Soni and Fred Melamed round out the cast, led by Ewan McGregor, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Carrie Coon and Scoot McNairy.

McGregor is set to play duel roles as brothers Emmit and Ray Stussy at the center of the story. Emmit, the Parking Lot King of Minnesota, is a handsome, self-made, real estate mogul and family man who sees himself as an American success story. His slightly younger brother, Ray, on the other hand is more of a cautionary tale. Balding and pot-bellied, Ray is the kind of guy who peaked in high school. Now a parole officer, Ray has a huge chip on his shoulder about the hand he’s been dealt, and he blames his brother for his misfortunes.

Stuhlbarg plays Sy Feltz, Emmit’s right hand man and consigliere.

Whigham plays Meeker County Chief of Police Moe Dammick, Soni plays scientist Dr. Homer Gilruth, Melamed will play Howard Zimmerman, a mover and a shaker with a knack for spinning a yarn and making a profit, and Mann will play Thaddeus Mobley, an award-winning science fiction author.

Production on the third installment of “Fargo,” from MGM Television and FX Studios, is tentatively scheduled to begin later this year and air on FX in 2017.

Showrunner Noah Hawley previously revealed the third installment of the anthology series will be set in 2010, following Season 1, which was set in 2006, and Season 2, set in 1979.