We've Got Hollywood Covered

Casting Society Honors ‘Star Trek,’ ‘Tropic Thunder’

Pilots for ”True Blood,“ ”Glee“ also winners at Artios Award ceremonies.

The Casting Society of America presented its 25th annual Artios Awards Monday night, honoring originality, creativity and quality in casting. Awards ceremonies were held simultaneously in New York and Century City.

On the film side, the winners are:

Studio feature, drama: April Webster and Alyssa Weisberg, "Star Trek"

Studio feature, comedy: Francine Maisler, "Tropic Thunder"

Independent feature: Maisler and Nina Henninger (location casting), "Milk"

Low-budget feature: Avy Kaufman, "Sunshine Cleaning"

Animated feature: Kevin Reher and Natalie Lyon, "Up"

Short film: Jason Wood, "Bye Bye Sally"

In the television arena, winners are:

Pilot, drama: Junie Lowry Johnson, "True Blood"

Pilot, comedy: Robert Ulrich, Eric Dawson, Carol Kritzer and Jim Carnahan (New York casting), "Glee"

Series, drama: Laura Schiff and Carrie Audino, "Mad Men"

Series, comedy: Cindy Tolan, "Flight of the Conchords" 

TV movie: Ellen Parks and Robin D. Cook (location casting), "Grey Gardens"

Miniseries: Alexa L. Fogel, "Generation Kill"

Children’s series: Ruth Lambert and Robert McGee, "Wizards of Waverly Place"

Animation: Gillian O’Neill, "Rick & Steve: The Happiest Gay Couple in All the World"

Daytime: Mark Teschner, "General Hospital"

Awards also were presented in the live theater category. Winners included Cindy Tolan for "All My Sons" (Broadway, drama); Daniel Swee for "God of Carnage" (Broadway, comedy); Tara Rubin, Merri Sugarman, Laura Schutzel, Eric Woodall and Nora Brennan for "Billy Elliot" (Broadway, musical) and Amy Lieberman for "Once on This Island" (L.A. theater).