Dr. Dre’s First Album in 15 Years, ‘Compton: A Soundtrack,’ to Drop Friday

The 16 tracks will feature Eminem, Kendrick Lamar, Ice Cube, Snoop Dogg and The Game

INDIO, CA - APRIL 15: Rapper Dr. Dre performs onstage during day 3 of the 2012 Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival at the Empire Polo Field on April 15, 2012 in Indio, California. (Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images for Coachella)
Getty Images/Universal

Dr. Dre is about to give his fans something they’ve waited 15 years to get — a new album.

The hip-hop mogul announced Saturday on his Beats 1 radio show “The Pharmacy” that his third solo album, “Compton: A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre,” will drop on Friday, Aug. 7, exclusively on iTunes and Apple Music.

Dre said the project was inspired by the upcoming feature film “Straight Outta Compton,” which traces the origins of N.W.A., the legendary rap group that made Dre, Ice Cube and the late Eazy-E famous.

“During principal photography, I felt myself going to the studio and being so inspired by the movie that I started recording an album,” Dre said.

“I kept it under wraps, and now the album is finished. It’s bananas.”

The 16-track project will feature Eminem, Kendrick Lamar, Ice Cube, Snoop Dogg and The Game, among others.

It’s Dr. Dre’s first album since “2001,” which was released in late 1999. But he says this latest LP will be his last, calling it his “grand finale.”

Set in the 1980s, the film “Straight Outta Compton” features Ice Cube’s son O’Shea Jackson Jr. playing a younger version of his father, Corey Hawkins as Dr. Dre and Jason Mitchell as Eazy-E. The Universal Pictures release is directed by F. Gary Gray and will arrive in theaters on Aug. 14.

Below is the tracklist as shown on iTunes for “Compton: A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre”:
1. “Intro”
2. “Talk About It” (feat. King Mez & Justus)
3. “Genocide” (feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay)
4. “It’s All On Me” (feat. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid)
5. “All In a Day’s Work” (feat. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius)
6. “Darkside/Gone” (feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar)
7. “Loose Cannons” (feat. Xzibit & COLD 187um)
8. “Issues” (feat. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak)
9. “Deep Water” (feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus)
10. “One Shot One Kill” (feat. Snoop Dogg)
11. “Just Another Day” (feat. Asia Bryant & The Game)
12. “For the Love of Money” (feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor)
13. “Satisfiction” (feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez)
14. “Animals” (feat. Anderson Paak)
15. “Medicine Man” (feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak)
16. “Talking to My Diary”