‘Nashville’ Scores $8 Million Incentive to Remain in Music City for Season 3

Combined incentive package comes from the state of Tennessee, Metro Nashville, Nashville Convention and Visitors Corp., and Ryman Hospitality Properties.

ABC's 'Nashville'

“Nashville” will be sticking around Nashville for its third season. The ABC drama had been in negotiations with the city for weeks, while considering a relocation to Texas or Georgia. All the while, there was uncertainty if the musical series would even be coming back for a third season. That news came last week.

And now, thanks to an incentive package totaling a combined $8 million, the production won’t have to pack up and relocate to another state. “It was not an easy decision to make,” Nashville Mayor Karl Dean told the paper. “We have a strong tourism economy and a strong convention economy, but this just adds to it in a way we would never be able to do on our own.”

Also read: ‘Nashville’ Renewed by ABC for Season 3

The package is a reduction of more than $5 million from the incentives the show received for Season 2. Nevertheless, it was enough to keep “Nashville” in its namesake. Under the terms of the deal, $5.5 million will come from the state, with Metro Nashville looking to approve another $1 million. $500,000 each will come from the city’s event marketing fund and Ryman Hospitality Properties. Ryman produces “Nashville”  in a joint arrangement with ABC and Lionsgate.

Also read: ABC New Schedule: ‘Black-Ish’ Gets ‘Modern Family’ Lead-In, Shonda Rhimes Thursday

According to the report, 90% of the production staff of “Nashville” was hired locally, with non-actors banking a combined payroll of $13 million for Season 2.

“Nashville” is executive produced by creator Callie Khouri, along with Dee Johnson, R.J. Cutler, and Steve Buchanan. It stars Connie Britton, Hayden Panettiere, Clare Bowen, Charles Esten, Jonathan Jackson, Eric Close, Chris Carmack, Lennon Stella, Maisy Stella, and Sam Palladio.