‘Into the Badlands,’ ‘The Son’ to End This Spring on AMC

TCA 2019: BBC America’s “Luther” and “Top Gear” also get spring premiere dates

Last Updated: February 9, 2019 @ 3:46 PM

AMC has set the premiere dates for the second half of “Into the Badlands” Season 3 and the second season of “The Son,” which will mark the final set of episodes for both series.

“Into the Badlands” will return on Sunday, March 24 before moving into the Monday night timeslot it will inhabit for the remainder of its run.

The Pierce Brosnan-led “The Son,” AMC’s adaptation of Philipp Meyer’s best-selling novel, will conclude with its 10-episode second season beginning Saturday, April 27.

Created by Alfred Gough and Miles Millar, “Into the Badlands” first debuted on AMC in 2015. Set in a dystopian future where a feudal society has taken root in what was once the American Midwest, the series stars Daniel Wu as a trained assassin named Sunny. Stacey Sher and Michael Shamberg, along with David Dobkin, Stephen Fung, Michael Taylor, Karen Richards, Paco Cabezas and Wu serve as executive producers on the project.

Nick Frost, Aramis Knight, Emily Beecham, Orla Brady, Ally Ioannides, Lorraine Toussaint, Sherman Augustus, Babou Ceesay, Ella-Rae Smith and Lewis Tan also star.

“The Son” stars Brosnan as Eli McCullough a man who will stop at nothing to secure his legacy against the backdrop of the nascent oil industry of 1917. In addition to the 1851 storyline, starring Jacob Lofland as a young Eli, Season 2 will also introduce a 1988 timeline led by Lois Smith as Eli’s granddaughter Jeanne Anne McCullough, as she is confronted with a long-buried family secret.

Kevin Murphy is showrunner and executive producer on the AMC Studios and Sonar Entertainment drama. “The Son” author Philipp Meyer also executive produces alongside director Kevin Dowling, and Sonar Entertainment’s Tom Lesinski and Jenna Santoianni.

Henry Garrett,  Paola Núñez, Zahn McClarnon, Jess Weixler, David Wilson Barnes, Sydney Lucas, James Parks, Elizabeth Frances, Shane Graham and Kathryn Prescott also star.

AMC Networks’ other spring premiere dates include new installments of “Luther” and “Top Gear” to debut on BBC America on Sunday, June 2 and Thursday, April 25, respectively. On IFC, the Hank Azaria comedy “Brockmire” will return for Season 3 on Wednesday, April 3.

See a complete rundown of premiere dates for AMC, BBC America, IFC and SundanceTV below.

The Son

Van Redin/AMC

AMC
“Into the Badlands”
Sunday, March 24 at 10:00 p.m. ET/9:00 p.m. CT

“The Son”
Saturday, April 27 at 9:00 p.m. ET/8:00 p.m. CT

BBC AMERICA
“Top Gear”
Thursday, April 25 at 9:00 p.m. ET/8:00 p.m. CT

“Luther”
Sunday, June 2 at 8:00 p.m. ET/7:00 p.m. CT

IFC
“Brockmire”
Wednesday, April 3 at 10:00 p.m. ET/9:00 p.m. CT

SUNDANCETV
“Ministry of Evil: The Twisted Cult of Tony Alamo”
Wednesday, February 27 at 11:00 p.m. ET/10:00 p.m. CT

“Unspeakable” (Two-Night Premiere Event)
First episode debuts Thursday, April 4 at 9:00 p.m. PT/12 midnight ET
Second episode debuts Friday, April 5 at 9:00 p.m PT/12 midnight ET

“The Name of the Rose”
Wednesday, May 1 at 11:00 p.m. ET/10:00 p.m. CT

Keep
Reading...

Looks like you’re enjoying reading
Keep reading by creating
a free account or logging in.