We've Got Hollywood Covered

James L Brooks to Receive PGA’s Norman Lear Achievement Award

Honor will be presented at the 28th Annual Producers Guild Awards ceremony on Jan. 28

The Producers Guild of America announced on Tuesday that James L. Brooks will receive the 2017 Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television at this year’s Producers Guild Awards.

The award will honor Brooks’ decades-long career in the entertainment industry, and will be presented to the veteran TV and film producer at the 28th Annual Producers Guild Awards ceremony on Jan. 28 at the Beverly Hilton hotel in California.

Last year’s recepient was “Scandal” and “Grey’s Anatomy” producer Shonda Rhimes.

Previous honorees include Chuck Lorre, J.J. Abrams, Dick Wolf, Jerry Bruckheimer, Lorne Michaels, David L. Wolper, Aaron Spelling, Carsey/Werner/Mandabach, Steven Bochco, David E. Kelley, Mark Burnett and Norman Lear.

“For decades, Jim Brooks has brought memorable characters, big laughs and above all, a profound sense of humanity into our homes,” said Producers Guild Awards Chairs Donald De Line and Amy Pascal in a statement. “Jim is a producer whose work has influenced multiple generations of storytellers, so it’s an incredible privilege to be able to honor him with our Guild’s Norman Lear Achievement Award.”

A 22-time Emmy winner and three-time Oscar winner, Brooks’ television and film credits include “The Mary Tyler Moore Show,” “Rhonda,” “Taxi,” “The Simpsons,” “The Tracy Ullman Show,” “Bottle Rocket,” “Jerry Maguire” and “Spanglish.”