‘Lion’ Roars Over Competition for Top Cinematography Prize

DP Greig Fraser bested nominees for “La La Land,” “Moonlight,” “Silence” and “Arrival”


“Lion” roared louder than “La La Land” at the American Society of Cinematographers Awards on Saturday.

The top prize went to the drama’s DP Greig Fraser, taking the edge over fellow nominees for “Moonlight, “La La Land,” “Arrival” and “Silence.”

In the 30 previous years the ASC handed out awards, 13 of its winners went on to receive the Oscar for cinematography, including the last three in a row and six of the last 10.

Also at the ceremony, Denzel Washington received the ASC’s Board of Governors Award. The ASC Lifetime Achievement Award went to Edward Lachman, while the Career Achievement in Television Award went to Ron Garcia, the International Award to Philippe Rousselot and the Presidents Award to Nancy Schreiber.

The ASC is an honorary professional organization with about 350 invited members.

The complete winners:

Theatrical Release
Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS, “Lion”

Spotlight Award
Gorka Gomez Andreu, AEC for “House Of Others”

Regular Series for Commercial Television
Tod Campbell for “Mr. Robot,” “eps2.0_unm4sk-pt1.tc”

Regular Series for Non-Commercial Television
Fabian Wagner, BSC for “Game of Thrones,” “Battle of the Bastards”

Television Movie, Miniseries or Pilot
Igor Martinovic for “The Night Of,” “Subtle Beast”

Lifetime Achievement Award: Edward Lachman, ASC

Board of Governors Award: Denzel Washington

Career Achievement in Television Award: Ron Garcia, ASC

International Award: Philippe Roussselot, ASC, AFC

Presidents Award: Nancy Schreiber, ASC

ASC Vilmos Zsigmond Heritage Award

Undergraduate: Emmett Sutherland, “Closer”

Graduate: Andrew Jeric, “Prisoner”

ASC Haskell Wexler Student Documentary Award: Colin F. Shepherd, “Into the Microscope”