We've Got Hollywood Covered

‘The Americans’ Gets FX Series Order

"Justified" creator Graham Yost among executive producers

FX has placed a 13-episode order for the 1980s-set spy drama "The Americans," starring Keri Russell, Matthew Rhys and Noah Emmerich.

Getty ImagesCreated by executive producer and showrunner Joe Weisberg, the series is executive produced by "Justified" creator Graham Yost, Justin Favley and Darryl Frank. Gavin O'Connor directed the pilot.

The series is set to premiere early next year. FX president John Landgraf has said he plans to add two more dramas in the coming months; "The Americans" is the first.

The series follows married KGB spies posing as Americans in suburban Washington soon after President Reagan's election. Phillip (Rhys) and Elizabeth Jennings (Russell) have two children oblivious to their parents' jobs or the fact that their marriage was arranged. It is tested by the Cold War and their relationships with a network of spies and informants. Phillip, meanwhile, is becoming more enamored of American life.

“We’re proud to welcome 'The Americans,' a taut series that crackles with incredible performances rooted in character perspectives never explored on a U.S. television series, to FX’s line up of quality dramas,” said Landgraf. “We’re equally excited to welcome Graham Yost’s talented young Padawan Joe Weisberg as creator/showrunner. He joins a long line of gifted writer/producers who have taken their first shot at greatness on FX.”

The show marks Keri Russell’s first leading role in series television since "Felicity." Rhys most recently starred as Kevin Walker in the ABC drama series "Brothers and Sisters." Emmerich, who plays the KGB couple's FBI agent neighbor, has appeared in "Miracle" and "Warrior," both directed by O’Connor.

Weisberg previously worked for the CIA and went on to become an author. He was also a writer on TNT’s "Falling Skies."