Ava DuVernay, Casey Bloys, Pearlena Igbokwe and More Appointed to TV Academy’s Executive Committee

Doug Herzog, David Madden, Lisa Nishimura also appointed

Ava DuVernay
Getty Images

The Television Academy announced Friday six new appointments to its executive committee.

Among them are: Emmy winning and Oscar nominated director, writer and producer Ava DuVernay; HBO programming president Casey Bloys; former president of Viacom’s music and entertainment group, Doug Herzog; Universal Television president Pearlena Igbokwe; AMC Networks and AMC Studios president David Madden; and Lisa Nishimura, vice president of documentary and comedy programming at Netflix.

The group are tasked to work closely with TV Academy officers and its board of governors to shape the organization’s direction during the 2019 term.

“We are privileged to have the collective expertise, insights and resources of these visionary executives guiding us through what promises to be another extraordinary time of expansion and innovation in our industry,” said TV academy chairman and CEO Frank Scherma in a statement Friday. “Their leadership provides relevancy and will be vital to ensuring the Television Academy is at the forefront of the industry’s remarkable evolution.”

In addition, the Academy’s board of governors announced its elected representatives on the 2019 executive committee. They are: Bob Bergen, performers; Rickey Minor, music; Michael Ruscio, ACE, picture editors; and Lori H. Schwartz, interactive media.

Also announced Friday were other members of the executive committee: Steve Venezi, executive committee vice chair; Tim Gibbons, second vice chair; Sharon Lieblein, secretary; Allison Binder, treasurer; Mitch Waldow, vice chair for the Los Angeles area; and Television Academy Foundation chair Madeline Di Nonno.