We've Got Hollywood Covered

Charlize Theron to Receive 2019 American Cinematheque Award

33rd annual prize to be presented on Nov. 8 at a Beverly Hilton gala

Charlize Theron — the Oscar-winner for “Monster,” star of “Mad Max: Fury Road” and this year’s “Long Shot” — will receive the 33rd Annual American Cinematheque Award, the organization announced Monday.

Theron’s colleagues and friends will present her with the prize at a gala ceremony, formerly known as the Moving Picture Ball, on Nov. 8 at The Beverly Hilton. A second honor, the Sid Grauman Award, will also be presented that evening. That winner is yet to be announced.

“The American Cinematheque is extremely pleased to honor Charlize Theron as the 33rd recipient of the American Cinematheque award at our celebration this year,” American Cinematheque Chairman Rick Nicita said in a statement. “Charlize Theron is making a significant contribution to the art of motion pictures while breaking through outmoded limitations on what an actress and producer can do.”

Nicita continued: “She won the Academy Award for transforming herself unrecognizably into a serial killer in ‘Monster’ and she earned another Oscar nomination for ‘North Country.’ She showed her fierce physicality in acclaimed action films like ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’ and ‘Atomic Blonde.’ She gave us portraits of troubled women in Golden Globe-nominated performances in ‘Young Adult’ and ‘Tully.’ She made an immediate and strong impression from the beginning in acclaimed movies such as ‘The Cider House Rules.’ She recently received rave reviews for her romantic comedy ‘Long Shot.’ This Fall, audiences will get to see her on and off-screen talent at play again in her next film — a behind-the-scenes look at the women of Fox News, which she produced and also stars in. It is obvious from her career that her immense talent cannot be categorized or confined. Charlize Theron is an ideal recipient of the American Cinematheque Award.”

Theron was the unanimous choice of the Cinematheque’s Board of Directors selection committee. The prize recognizes filmmakers and artists in the entertainment industry who are fully engaged in his or her work and are committed to making a significant contribution to the art of the motion picture.

Recent recipients include Reese Witherspoon, Ridley Scott, Amy Adams and Bradley Cooper. Funds raised as part of the gala benefit the year-round programming of the Cinematheque, which is a non-profit cultural organization that operates the Egyptian Theater in Hollywood, as well as the Aero Theater in Santa Monica.

Paul Flattery will executive produce the show, with Irene Crinita producing and Corrinne Mann as the event producer. Co-chairs and presenters of the event will be announced as they are confirmed.