Cinematographers to Honor Chris Menges

“Killing Fields” d.p. will receive International Achievement Award

Last Updated: December 3, 2009 @ 6:37 PM

Oscar-winning cinematographer Chris Menges will receive the American Society of Cinematographers’ 2010 International Achievement Award, presented annually to a cinematographer who has made significant and enduring contributions to the international art of filmmaking.

The award will be presented during the 24th annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards celebration at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza on Feb. 27.

The British cinematographer won Oscars for "The Killing Fields" and "The Mission" and was nominated for "Michael Collins" and "The Reader."

Other credits include "Stop-Loss," "The Boxer," "Dirty Pretty Things" and "The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada."

“Chris Menges has dedicated his career to helping to create films that tell the important stories of our times,” ASC president Michael Goi said in a statement. “He has a unique talent for creating compelling images that pull audiences into those stories.”

Previous recipients of the award include Freddie Young, Jack Cardiff, Freddie Francis, Douglas Slocombe, Henri Alekan, Raoul Coutard, Giuseppe Rotunno, Witold Sobocinski, Miroslav Ondricek, Michael Ballhaus and Donald McAlpine.